Simpletons question re USB or wireless printer

Kenny

Trustworthy Scouser AND
Mod Squad
Reaction score
Toxteth scouser, made good ..now hiding on the W
My USB printer is going slowly AWOL ( usual head cleaned new ink cartridge but still prints crap ). I only want a run of the mill home printer/scanner and was thinking of this one...
Thing is, I have never used wireless products before, just USB cables. Can my desktop Windows 10 computer run a wireless printer? How do I know if it can? Does the wireless printer run
off my router or is it a product built into my PC ? Basic question I know :duno

The link posted brings up laptops for me. Usually a wire to printer then printer goes onto WiFi I can print from my phone if need be and my printer is also a cheap go one. Post the proper link? Does your windows machine have WiFi?

Yes it will run fine.

You connect the printer to the router and your laptop will see it - once you've loaded the driver etc.

Well, that's how it works with my Epson wireless printer...

Before you buy take the cost of replacement ink cartridges into account. Some are truly rip off. I buy non-manufacturer replacement. Just be careful not to download software updates (Epson anyway) as they will stop non-Epson working.

Network LASER printer.

I only ever have a mono-laser printer at home to print the odd letter or PDF insurance certificate. Fires up every time, no blocked jets. I have had the same one since 2018 and it gets used less often than once a month, and it is still on the original toner cartridge. Although, I see the days of the £30 printer have gone and the cheapest is about £90 for a Brother. This was £32 in 2018.