Black Forest, Germany

Shaunie

Reaction score
I'm off to the Black Forest early September for a weeks holiday with the missus.

Regrettably, we've wimped out and are taking the car.

However, has anyone been before? Can you advise the best places to see and also the places to avoid?

I have no knowledge at all of this area. It just sounded nice so that's where we're headed.

Thread hijack!

I prefer the Black Forest Gateaux's that you get from Waitrose!

Visit Touratech, they are in the Black Forest.

I made a visit and it was the best way to spend an hour ogling fancy bits and pieces in the flesh.

Mick.

The Swarzwaldstrasse (B500) that runs south from Baden Baden is a brilliant road on a bike but still pleasant in a car.

Kaiserslautern to Wissembourg is a nice run.

Yes, the Baden Baden to Freudenstadt route via the Schwarzwald Hochstrasse is one of the finest routes in the area.

When you get to Freudenstadt, check out the Stadt Platz (city sqaure) and stroll around and look at all of the places manufacturing and selling Cuckoo Clocks.

Also in the area on the Neckar river is Neckarsulm and it is there that I first discovered the Deutches Zwieradmuseum (German Two Wheel Museum) you can see the worlds first patented push bike and it goes on up to some of the most stupendous motorcycles I've ever seen. Small entry fee.

It is located in a Schloss (Castle) that as far as I can work out is where the NSU (NeckarSUlm) factory is/was located. This was the first place to manufacture and/or develop motorcycles in Germany.

Neckarsulm is very near Heilbron and from Heidelberg to Heilbron is a tourist route along the Neckar river, which takes you past the museum.