Poor starting

electric_monk

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to this whole BMW GS thing and am looking for some advice on a bit of a problem i'm having.
Over the last couple of weeks my 1990 100GS has been getting a bit difficult to start first thing in the morning. When I press the button the starter springs heartily to life for about a second and a half before running out of breath, after the third go the engine eventually fires, although sluggishly at first.This morning it didn't catch until the 6th or 7th attempt. The Choke lever is in the half on position and it has a 3 month old Hawker battery which is holding it's charge well.

Any ideas

I start mine on full choke, no throttle.

Have you balanced the carbs and choke cables recently ? Might be worth a look.

I assume the plugs are clean and the float bowls don't have water in them.

Is it on the original coil ? When I first got my bike it was a very bad starter. I found that the coil had perished, the resin case was split in three places and one of the terminals was hanging off. A new coil made a dramatic difference. Quite expensive though.

Bob.

is it correct to say, the starter motor is not turning the engine over quickly enough, for long enough? in which case, it sounds rather like

the battery's not getting properly charged

connection fom battery to starter is bad

the starter motor's shagged

if it's the engine catching, then dying (bit hard to tell from your post). try choke + opening the throttle a small amount when first starting. they certainly all don't need such a procedure, but mine does.

If the battery's holding its charge well but it's running out of steam, try checking the quality of the connections to the battery, including the earth connections. Dodgy earth connections will not only limit the charge into a battery, but will also limit the current that you can supply to the starter motor.