Advice on Moto Tours in UK from US

uncutshirt

Hey all,

I am taking the BMW Off-Road two day course (basic) in Wales during March 08 and I have three days before and after to rent a bike and tour:
Any suggestions on a good tour operator or moto hire company?
Plus any must-see sights along the way? I am flying into Heathrow and taking a train Cardiff for the training.

I want to see the sights but stay away from London. Since I am GSer, a kind expat directed me to your forum.

- curt

Hi Curt! I'm a newbie here as well and haven't got myself a GS yet. I can't help on the hire front I'm afraid but can highly recommend Wales for riding. I used to live in Snowdonia and the roads around there are fantastic. Betws-y-coed isn't a bad place to base yourself. Have fun! :)

Hi Curt! I'm a newbie here as well and haven't got myself a GS yet. I can't help on the hire front I'm afraid but can highly recommend Wales for riding. I used to live in Snowdonia and the roads around there are fantastic. Betws-y-coed isn't a bad place to base yourself. Have fun! :)

Thanks for the tip.

And what is this I hear about the clutch on the right and brake on the left? ;)

Hi there - the course is great but its a long way to come for it!! With 3 days either side to "do the tourist thing" are you planning on a rental bike for the whole time or just part of the trip - there aren't alot of bike hire places so I think you need to decide... Basically there are great roads all over Wales, but also some good Off-Road routes as well - but bear in mind that you will NOT cover the same sort of distances in the UK in the times that you do them in the US ( I lived in VA for 3 yrs!). Oh, and have you got dates of the course booked - when I asked for them I was told they wouldnt be released until the NEC bike show in late Nov / early Dec.....?