PDA

View Full Version : Italia 08 GPS



Paulbde
16-03-08, 11:49
For those of you using Garmin GPS systems on the Italia 08 tour, you will be able to have the full trip, divided by day, downloaded onto your GPS prior to departure.

However, as we all seem to use different software versions as well as NT versions this can lead to compatibility issues.

Thus,

Anyone using a Garmin GPS need to :

A, download the attached route and waypoints, transfer it to your GPS, and ensure you can read the route on the GPS - then post that you have the info OK

B, If you cannot read the file, post your model of GPS and software version i.e city navigator Europe V9


In the coming weeks, I intend to make sure everyone with a GPS has a full set of compatable files.

Paul

pablo666
16-03-08, 12:12
umo rather than me having to trawl through and find out for myself? What size memory card will I need for this download?:(

pablo666
16-03-08, 12:15
Paul, that post went wrong:spitfire

I tried to say,
would it be possible for you to post an idiots guide to putting this on my Zumo since I.ve just bought it and haven't yet any idea.

If it's too complex to post, don't worry I will trawl through the manual or search on line.

thanks
Paul

Major Gadget
16-03-08, 15:01
Hi Paul, I can't open your test route.

I am running NT versions of Ver 8, and 9 City Navigator Europe.

Ken.

Bryn
16-03-08, 17:20
City navigator V9 on 2650.. route found and its fine :thumb

Bryn
16-03-08, 17:25
Paul, that post went wrong:spitfire

I tried to say,
would it be possible for you to post an idiots guide to putting this on my Zumo since I.ve just bought it and haven't yet any idea.

If it's too complex to post, don't worry I will trawl through the manual or search on line.

thanks
Paul

Paul, if its anything like the 2650... plug it in to the computer... then when its on click on the file... open.... that should open mapsource... then transfer to unit ... does that make sense?

Bryn :beerjug:

Deleted Member I
16-03-08, 17:38
It's very simple.

Download the file to your DESKTOP so you can find it easily.

Open Mapsource. The GARMIN software on your PC. If you haven't loaded it then load it from the CD in the box. The one labeled Navigator not the instruction manual CD.

ONce you have mapsource opened in your PC. DO a File/Open to the file you downloaded to your desktop.
Then plug in your Zumo to the PC using the USB lead. IF it is your first time then it will take a minute or two to load the drivers etc.

Once Zumo is recognised by PC. Use the TRANSFER/SEnd to device function.
A box will come up on the screen. It has a drop down menu for selecting the Zumo. Then a series of checkboxes. Select Waypoints and Routes.
Click ok.

Once completed. Disconnect the Zumo from the PC. Use the disconnect function on Windows BEFORE YOU PULL THE WIRE OUT. Then turn on the ZUMO. It will ask you if you want to transfer the data. Just follow on screen instructions.

BINGO route loaded!

Deleted Member I
16-03-08, 19:58
ZUMO 550 2008 maps

Works fine

Although the waypoints are not in Italy :D

THE DOCTOR
17-03-08, 01:50
Anyone using a Garmin GPS need to :

....download the attached route and waypoints, transfer it to your GPS, and ensure you can read the route on the GPS - then post that you have the info OK
Paul

I have the info OK! :thumb2

stolzy
17-03-08, 14:37
I have Mapsource V8/2610 and it says:
'The file cannot be read because it uses a subsequent file version.'
Guess I have to wait for an upgrade.

Chuck
18-03-08, 22:31
Hi Stolzy,

Have the same equipment, got the same message. Selected for the options Help>Check for Software Updates.

Downloaded and installed, all seems to work now. :thumb

If your running Vista like me, the ZIP file does not extract atomatically, however, if you download direct from the site and run the ZIP it works.

Cheers


Richard :beerjug:



I have Mapsource V8/2610 and it says:
'The file cannot be read because it uses a subsequent file version.'
Guess I have to wait for an upgrade.

GIMLET
21-03-08, 13:31
I have followed the information supplied by Novice, keep getting message same as the others.
Followed DV8's advice and updated but still getting the message.
'The file cannot be read because it uses a subsequent file version.'
I have the ZUMU 550 running city navigator NT Version 9.
can anyone put me right please?:confused:

Chuck
21-03-08, 13:51
Sorry CC,

My advice was only for the 2610 and V8, not the config you have.

Good luck :thumb




I have followed the information supplied by Novice, keep getting message same as the others.
Followed DV8's advice and updated but still getting the message.
'The file cannot be read because it uses a subsequent file version.'
I have the ZUMU 550 running city navigator NT Version 9.
can anyone put me right please?:confused:

Gippo
21-03-08, 17:58
Hi Paul

I have just tried to load the Test route and get the following message:

"This route does not match the available maps.

It would not follow the roads precisely do you want to continue"

This was on a SP3 with Europe V6.

In what version was the file created and saved???

Cheers G

Also got the same message in V8

THE DOCTOR
21-03-08, 18:07
Hi Paul

I have just tried to load the Test route and get the following message:

"This route does not match the available maps.

It would not follow the roads precisely do you want to continue"

This was on a SP3 with Europe V6.

In what version was the file created and saved???

Cheers G

Gippo, I'm using an SP3 on V6 as well.
Sounds like you don't have a major problem.
I assume you got that message from the GPS. All it is saying is that your data card does not have the maps loaded for the route Paul posted.
If you got that far it's pretty safe to say Paul's info can be read & loaded to your unit. Just try loading maps for the Midlands area onto your datacard.

(My SP3 can get the whole route on three 128mb data cards, I'm using four to spread the maps further afield in case of detours. pm me if you want any help)

PP

Paulbde
21-03-08, 19:17
Chaps,

To put your minds at rest.

1. Those of you with SP3's are fully compatible with the mapping that I use -I know this as when we did Garmisch 07, I used an SP3.

2. For SP3's you will not fit the whole route and all the waypoints onto 1 card, so you will need to get another - if you look on e-bay you can pick up the 256mb version - 1 of these was enough for the whole Garmisch trip.

3 I author the trip in Mapsource V9, which allows me to also save the routes in older versions. However, for the routes and waypoints to be relevant, you have to have the map sets loaded - no map - no GPS understanding.

4 I am expecting the latest map upgrade in the next few days from Garmin, so I will update all the routes, and Major Gadget (an Mapsource08 user) and I have had a discussion about general compatibility issues.

5 The biggest problem will be with older map sets - because over time roads change. To overcome this problem, and also on newer devices to beat the dynamic re-route feature, the routes will contain intermediate way points, thus if your device re-calculates because of the roads are different, you will still pick up the next waypoint - so you will stay on route.

6 Those of you that have had problems with error messages about compatibility, please update your Mapsource and also device software to the latest release (I'm not talking about the maps), which is a free download from the Garmin site. Bryn had to do this last year and everything works groovy afterwards.

This is why unfortunately we need to get the GPS section going so early, so that we can overcome any little issues.

For those of you that have GPSs but have not checked everything out yet, please do so just in case its a new problem your experiencing!

Cheers

Paul

Major Gadget
21-03-08, 20:33
I rang Garmin today to discuss the problem I'm having with the Test Route, and spoke to a very nice lady. She said City Navigator V9,and City Navigator NT V9, are two different map sets,and cannot be read by each other. The fact that my 2820 with City Navigator NTv9 cannot read this is because of this reason. The fact that my Zumo 550 with City Navigator NTv9 can is a fluke,and she confirmed this with their IT Guy.When Paul gets his new Map it will be City Navigator 2008 because he runs a Garmin 2610 which cannot read the new City Navigator NT2008. So guys who cannot read the posted maps will need to take all the Waypoints and Co-ordinates, and create daily rouites in their own version of Mapsource.

Cheers, Ken

Navigator
23-03-08, 16:36
Well just to add to the confusion I have a MIO268 and a Nokia Navigator. Oh and soon should have a street pilot 3 to add to the collection. I only need a map with the waypoints ticked into it and will then put them in individually in my systems. Have to say the nokia is a cracking piece of kit for a phone.

stolzy
27-03-08, 15:36
Hi Stolzy,

Have the same equipment, got the same message. Selected for the options Help>Check for Software Updates.

Downloaded and installed, all seems to work now. :thumb

If your running Vista like me, the ZIP file does not extract atomatically, however, if you download direct from the site and run the ZIP it works.

Cheers


Richard :beerjug:
I'd already tried that, but at the end of downloading the file I get the message

' Invalid command line parameter'

Rather amusingly Garmin say this is not the correct way to update the software and pointed me to a file to download and updateupdate manaully.
I did that, but still get the same message when I try and open the route file.
I'm waiting for Mapsource V9 - maybe that will solve it.

stolzy
27-03-08, 16:11
OK, I had a little play on another computer and I updated Mpsource on my MacBook to 6.13.7 and I can see the route fine now. Looks like the update didn't work on the first computer (a Dell XP) I tried.

So I'm up and running

Stevo
28-03-08, 14:52
Sorted:thumb

I was having all sorts of issues trying to get this loaded.

I am using - Zumo550, City Navigator Europe NT V9, Windows 2000.

First off i had the dreaded 'The file cannot be read because it uses a subsequent file version.':eek

Then when updating through the software, the Zip didn't work:spitfire

Then on DV8's advice, I tried the update download from the garmin site.

All now works quite well - thanks for all your help.


Just a quick question though - how big will my SD card need to be to take the full route - Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Cheers for now:beerjug:

Stevo

pablo666
05-04-08, 16:27
Sorry for the delay, have been in france:D
Mine works, Zumo 550, and all the latests updates and maps.

Ta.

Bryn
05-04-08, 20:07
Just a quick question though - how big will my SD card need to be to take the full route - Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Cheers for now:beerjug:

Stevo

Stevo, a 2 gig card does all of Europe on my 2610... if you get a card that size just load all the maps on and you won't have to worry about it again :thumb

Stevo
07-04-08, 10:27
Thanks Bryn:thumb

2 gb card purchased - just need to spend somer time uploading everything now.

Cheers:beerjug:

Stevo

Paulbde
07-04-08, 11:10
Gents, up until now all routing that I have done has been created using Mapsource 9 - std version.

I chased up my 2008 disc today ( which will be with me by Friday) and whist talking to the bods, have been infored as follows:

"routes made using mapsource 2008, can be transfered and read by any device using 2008 regardless of if it is an NT version or not. In addition, files can be saved on back compatible versions i.e. V5 etc and again can be read by NT & non NT"

What this means, is that once my software is updated, compatability issues should be over. To test that I will post a new set of files made to test by all.

Regards

Paul

All praise to Garmin, the 2008 update disc arrived today! Having installed said item, I will have a play at the weekend and post a text route and waypoints. PL

THE DOCTOR
12-04-08, 14:16
My update DVD for City Navigator Europe 2008 arrived this morning.
I paid my money & got the unlock code.

I have 2 StreetPilots, both registered in 'My Garmin'.

I loaded the updated mapping to my PC no problem.

I transfered updated mapping to my data card no problem.

My main unit can read the updated card & read my other card loaded with v6 mapping no problem.

BUT, I can't get my 2nd unit to read the 2008 mapping. Any ideas?

The info I got this morning from Garmin states I can share mapping data with another device & can unlock one additional device.

Anybody suggest how I go about this? :eek

araspitfire
12-04-08, 14:20
as of 2008 it's different... they stopped giving away the 2nd free unlock code... look into it a bit more... I have email from Garmin confirming this.

Al...

THE DOCTOR
16-04-08, 14:53
If anyone's interested in updating their Garmin mapping to City Navigator Europe 2008, here's some info.

I'm running an old StreetPilot 3.
I updated over the weekend from v6 (purchased in 2004) so I can already see a bit of updated mapping. My job sometimes has me working in Toulouse in the new Airbus A380 factory on the outskirts of Blagnac airport & the difference between my 2004 & 2008 mapping is, as you'd expect, quite extensive in this newly built area.

A nice update is the inclusion of ATM cash points.

Anyway, the cost!
Garmin quoted $88.12 & I got my credit card statement on-line today & it's a nice round 46

Garmin sent me another update DVD this morning so if anybody wants it I can post it to them. May be quicker than asking Garmin for a copy 'cos you'll get it from me within days of asking.
It's unopened but you'll have to buy your own unlock code.
It updates StreetPilot 2620/2660 & previous versions of City Select & City Navigator.

No charge, I'll post to anyone who's on the trip & wants the update software.

Now with full detailed coverage for Norway, Czech Rep, Slovakia, Hungary & Slovenia.
..more addresses for Belgium included.

Paulbde
19-04-08, 09:35
Guys, please find attached 2 mapsource sample routes - both the same, but saved in 2 diffrent mapsource formats.

Please will you try these not only on your desktop / laptop, but also your GPS to ensure compatability.

The version 2008, should be ok for all newer devices (including NT), whilst the second version sould be ok for anyone not using mapsource 8 or higher.

Please post your results

Thanks

Paul

Paulbde
19-04-08, 09:37
Gents, I have a spare 2 of the above and will bring them with me to the meeting.

You will need to buy the unlock codes, but at least you can get the dvd.

let me know if anyone wants them

Paul

THE DOCTOR
19-04-08, 09:53
Guys, please find attached 2 mapsource sample routes
Please post your results

Thanks

Paul

v.2008 OK my end! East Farndon to Thorpe Underwood.

:thumb2

Navigator
19-04-08, 23:21
If anyone's interested in updating their Garmin mapping to City Navigator Europe 2008, here's some info.

I'm running an old StreetPilot 3.
I updated over the weekend from v6 (purchased in 2004) so I can already see a bit of updated mapping. My job sometimes has me working in Toulouse in the new Airbus A380 factory on the outskirts of Blagnac airport & the difference between my 2004 & 2008 mapping is, as you'd expect, quite extensive in this newly built area.

A nice update is the inclusion of ATM cash points.

Anyway, the cost!
Garmin quoted $88.12 & I got my credit card statement on-line today & it's a nice round 46

Garmin sent me another update DVD this morning so if anybody wants it I can post it to them. May be quicker than asking Garmin for a copy 'cos you'll get it from me within days of asking.
It's unopened but you'll have to buy your own unlock code.
It updates StreetPilot 2620/2660 & previous versions of City Select & City Navigator.

No charge, I'll post to anyone who's on the trip & wants the update software.

Now with full detailed coverage for Norway, Czech Rep, Slovakia, Hungary & Slovenia.
..more addresses for Belgium included.

Phil,
I have a street pilot as well so if nobody wants the disk I will have it to play with and see if I can get it to work

THE DOCTOR
20-04-08, 03:04
Phil,
I have a street pilot as well so if nobody wants the disk I will have it to play with and see if I can get it to work

I'll bring it with me on Sunday. The disc has (literally) got your name on it!

So long as you create an account at my.garmin.com & register your unit all you need to do is install the mapping from the disc onto your PC then unlock the new mapping data (i.e. pay Garmin $88.12 - 46)

Phil.

GIMLET
20-04-08, 20:34
I T was never my strong point, unable to say if the routes work or not.

Following instructions but unable to get up on the screen as per instructions on the thread.
If anybody has any time one evening it maybe helpful to contact me see what i am doing wroung and help me through the problem before Sunday.
Thanks.

Navigator
20-04-08, 21:01
Switching it on is always a good start:aidan

Paulbde
04-05-08, 09:17
Gents, following my recent e-mail with the GPS routing, Phil has noticed that on one route we have an errant waypoint. I will correct this and issue a new file to replace the one sent out recently.

The new files will have V1 after the name to identify the correct file. Please delete and amend your GPS accordingly.

For those yet to receive the files, I have your updated e-mails and will send out new files by CoP Monday.

Please note, waypoint P2R4 is a rest stop. If you look in Google earth at the route, it will show that there is a beach and is we are on an island, it would be rude not to stop, anyway, if its HOT, then I think refreshments will be in order every few hours - if you know what I mean.

Also, Phil is using a Streetpilot 3 and has had a capacity issue for his storage card, which he has got round as below:

Also, after I loaded my StreetPilot3 with your file I got a message saying 'Waypoint files FULL'. Although I deleted all my previous files I still got this message when I tried again.

So, I went through your file & deleted some waypoints that weren't essential to the route & didn't effect the route in any way.
I've managed to get your file down to 33 waypoints from 51. (see attachment) It now loads fine.
Although there is no route along the Stelvio Pass it's quite clear which route to take so long as you don't turn off.

Guys, this is fine for the older series GPS's, but newer models will be confused and try to grow brains, only delete if you have no other choice.

Finally, there is a glitch in the 2008 software with regard to the Stevilo pass.

You will see in the routing, that we have a route that takes us from the camp site in Venice to Stevilo, and another route that starts after we exit the pass. This is because 200 will not route through the pass!

I have no idea why this is, as the pass is accessible from both sides?

If you are using Mapsource 9, its no problem - Have a look for yourselves and let me know if you have it any different to me.

Regards

Paul



http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10738;417/st/20080614/e/Italia+08/dt/5/k/ebf0/event.png
(http://www.TickerFactory.com/)

GIMLET
08-05-08, 20:03
YIPPEEEEEEEEEEEE!
Finally managed to get the test route to work, next is the big one.
IT is no longer safe.:clap

GIMLET
08-05-08, 20:33
He grabbed IT by the cursor and showed it whos the boss.
He loaded up the emailed route and now we wont get lost.
I only hope the route was right and puts us on the correct path.
But if you see me heading the opposite way, please dont.... laugh.
:type:blast:type:blast:type:clap:clap:clap

THE DOCTOR
10-05-08, 17:31
This may be of interest..
BMW dealers in the countries we're passing through.

I may pop a few dealers as waypoints around each overnight stop.

THE DOCTOR
11-05-08, 08:14
Finally, there is a glitch in the 2008 software with regard to the Stevilo pass.

You will see in the routing, that we have a route that takes us from the camp site in Venice to Stevilo, and another route that starts after we exit the pass. This is because 200 will not route through the pass!
I have no idea why this is, as the pass is accessible from both sides?
If you are using Mapsource 9, its no problem - Have a look for yourselves and let me know if you have it any different to me.
Regards
Paul



Paul, have you unchecked the Seasonal Road Closures option?

Edit: Preferances: Routing. Good spot, that answres that one :thumb

Deleted Member I
21-05-08, 20:58
Has the new file been emailed out?

If not, should I just amend the original file? :nenau

Bryn
25-05-08, 17:12
Has the new file been emailed out?

If not, should I just amend the original file? :nenau

Tom, I believe that Paul is sorting a new file .....

flash of the gap
09-06-08, 15:33
i am up an running, on the gps that is :aidan thanks to bryn and that wonderful helpful hippy from colraine :D

TUNED IN.
09-06-08, 16:00
did you download mapsource yet?:augie

THE DOCTOR
09-06-08, 16:01
i am up an running, on the gps that is :aidan thanks to bryn and that wonderful helpful hippy from colraine :D

I'm OK apart from Calais to Nancy.
For some reason my old GPS just draws a straight line! :confused:

No worries though I know where I'm heading if I get seperated, I'll just keep someone in sight on the 1st day. For the rest of the holiday all gps routes are AOK.

Is there anyone on this trip without GPS?

Only 2 more night-shifts for me. :beerjug:

stolzy
09-06-08, 16:11
I'm OK apart from Calais to Nancy.
For some reason my old GPS just draws a straight line! :confused:

Probably knows you're on a GS :D

Stevo
10-06-08, 08:11
Finally, there is a glitch in the 2008 software with regard to the Stevilo pass.

You will see in the routing, that we have a route that takes us from the camp site in Venice to Stevilo, and another route that starts after we exit the pass. This is because 200 will not route through the pass!

I have no idea why this is, as the pass is accessible from both sides?




http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10738;417/st/20080614/e/Italia+08/dt/5/k/ebf0/event.png
(http://www.TickerFactory.com/)


The two routes Venice - Stevillo and Stevillo - Granau transfer to my Zumo and the Zumo asks if i want to update/import the data.
Zumo then tells me that the update is successful.
When i search for the routes they are nowhere to be seen.:nenau

Is this caused by the glitch as mentioned above?

If so is there any way around it or will waypoints have to be added on the day?

Any heads up on this would be useful as time is running out.

Cheers:thumb

Stevo

Navigator
10-06-08, 11:46
All you gotta do is get close. Then read the signposts. Easy

Paulbde
10-06-08, 18:02
All you gotta do is get close. Then read the signposts. Easy

It turns out that the 2008 software even with seasonal avoidence turned off will not let you pass through certain areas, so that why the venice to stevillo waypoint takes you to the start of the pass - where its one road to ride - and picks up again afterwards.

If you are not seeing the daily routes, rename them and you should be ok, another glitch!

pablo666
11-06-08, 23:12
I guess I've got the same problem?:confused:
Can only load 11 of the 13 routes. Both routes with stelvio in the title are not porting across from mapsource to 550

Pablo