keyboard misshap

~Stef~

Reaction score
Having an 11 year old with a habit of drinking and eating at the computer, anyone know what i can "safely" use to clean my sticky keys with ?

~Stef~

Buy a new keyboard.. They cost less than a fiver nowadays (5 Euros over here!)...
Smack him about the back of the head with the old one..

Problem solved..

Alternatively...

...just keep using Coke like you have been. :D

You can unscrew the keyboard, gently pop the keys out and wash all the non-electrical parts with warm water (this is what I used to do when I was a poor student), but as Padge rightly says, they only cost about a fiver, and you can buy covers for them to stop more dirt getting all over them, so I would do that.

Remember when you're buying a cheap keyboard to check that the keyboard arrangement is for UK so, as some of the really cheap ones might not be, if it's got a pound (☼) sign, it's probably alright.

Don't know if that pound will come out as it doesn't feature on this Dutch version

Hope this helps

David

Mike O said:
What about cleaning a Laptop keyboard then?

Take the battery out of the laptop then put the system into a washing machine on a synthetic programme. Remember - and this is most important - to choose a slow spin cycle.

Either that or get some alchohol based wet-wipes and vigourously clean the keyboard while the system is turned off. Then take some more alchohol wipes and stuff one up each nostril. Classic stuff.

Mike

slow spin cycle

mikebelch said:
Take the batter out of the laptop then put the system into a washing machine on a synthetic programme. Remember - and this is most important - to choose a slow spin cycle.Mike

I sincerely hope no one at work sees this they will bloody do it.

G....LOL

mikebelch said:
Take the battery out of the laptop then put the system into a washing machine on a synthetic programme. Remember - and this is most important - to choose a slow spin cycle.