A little advice and help

RussJutty

Hello guys,

Getting my first bike F650GS later this month, already bought a few bits, crash bars etc, but what essentials should i get. Whats the best oil? brake fluid etc, i have tools, but is there any weird tool i should look at getting. I am a complete newbie and to be honest i need your accumulated wisdom so that i am pretty much prepared for getting the bike,

thank you for any help or advice

The most useful nay essential addition to my tools has been a set of torx bits, up to a 55 you'll need. & a torque wrench would be useful too. Nippy Norman's has everything you'll need Russ. Not sure about the fluids myself but i'm sure some kind soul will be along shortly.

You shouldn't need oil before the 600/1000 mile service, and might not need any at all between dealer oil changes. If you do, the manual says to use 10/40 and it's normal to use mineral for the first 6000 or so miles, but ask your dealer to be on the safe side.

Brake fluid? Never used any in last 100,000 miles.

Hello guys,

Getting my first bike F650GS later this month, already bought a few bits, crash bars etc, but what essentials should i get. Whats the best oil? brake fluid etc, i have tools, but is there any weird tool i should look at getting. I am a complete newbie and to be honest i need your accumulated wisdom so that i am pretty much prepared for getting the bike,

thank you for any help or advice

Any motorcyclist with a chain-driven bike needs chain lube and probably chain cleaner if your lube attracts gunk.

For chain lube, I prefer Wurth's Dry Lube, much less mess than oil/wax/gel, it doesn't get flung onto your tyres. (Now I got the scottoiler I don't even think about it :clap)