Where to Start!

WAREGS

Morning All, (or afternoon depending when you read it!)

as you can see from my post count i'm new! and the fact i'm posting in here!

i need some help!

I dont have a Bike licence! (Yet) my aim is to own a GSA, having ridden off road when i was younger, i got into my cars and never took my bike licence and wanted to wait till i could do my direct access! now being 25 and in a better position to afford the bike i want thats where i'm heading!

i was looking at doing ym training through BMW, the one in wales somewhere, 7 day course? any adivce if they are good for what essentially is a complete beginner?

anyway as i work for a Company who deals soley in car and mototrbike GPS i'm off to have a look at that forum!

thanks

Tom

You're not half of Tom Tom are you? welcome to the site.

Sorry, can't advise re training but I do know that round these parts all the courses and test dates are booked up till Autumn. People are apparently trying to get a licence before the regs change in the autumn.

Good luck.

there is the direct course in wales with BMW but I'm not very up on what the law says nowadays, seems you can have different level of direct access:confused:

Yamaha do a direct access course and offer a discount on a bike once you pass, well they seem to do here not sure if that's a regional thing or not.

once you've got that there's also a wheelie school in Bristol which might be a laugh to have a go at.

try www.worldofbmw.com or search on simon pavey he's in the same building as the BMW training thing. Or try Kevin and Julia Saunders I think they run it...

Best of luck

Lo

Hi Welcome.
I was in your position 12 months ago. I did my Direct Access and now own a 650GS.
I used a school on Anglesey called "Kickstart Bike Training" Christine the woman who owns is brilliant, and a very good intructor (pretty good looking as well!) The school is based at Ty Croes Racetrack. Give her a call 01407 810 950 or 07738 494447
she can also do your CBT