advice on signing up to broadband

Steptoe

What a waste.
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I'm a complete computer novice and want to go over to broadband, i'm currently with supanet ! if i change to ( for instance tiscali ) will i have to change my email address or is it possible to keep it. Whats currently the best deal around, and who shouldn't i touch with a barge pole --- thanks in advance

:confused:

ADSL

Neil, my Dad used this site http://www.adslguide.org/ to compare all the offerings, and found it dead handy. Depends what your email address is. Some of them are provider specific, so for example, you could be NH@tiscali.com, so if you moved to NTL, it would be a different domain...If you use something like Hotmail, or my preference, yahoo.com, you can read your email from any computer anywhere you can get access to the internet...

I used ADSLGuide for info and found the support from ISP's there better than dealing with pre-sales with the respctive companies direct.

I plumped for www.plus.net as their offering for 512K broadband was the best for a big company (can't be doing with these here today gone tomorrow types) and they supported migration as I was with BT Openworld.

When I left BT they downgraded my account to PAYG which means I kept my old email address, useful for the transition though to send I need to connect to their webmail offering or dial-up as they ban relaying (where you connect to their servers via someone elses pipe).

Your outgoing ISP if they offer a PAYG service will probably offer the same for you. Of course if you do opt for Plusnet's excellent service they have a referral screen and you could mention me I get a bonio or something :D

Beware, Tiscali Broadband is only slightly wider than a dialup connection - nothing to worry about really until you want to download thta big mpeg or photo.

Remember, if it's much cheaper than all the rest it's probably not as good.

Iain

Tiscali

Tiscali are Bolloxs,