France May 2009

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wapping

Reaction score
I plan to run a basic trip to France in 2009.

I would like to gear it towards UKGSers who have either:

(a) Never toured much

(b) Never been to France much

(c) May perhaps have never been abroad on their bikes

It is not going to be 'hard core' mileage but (depending on your confidence / normal daily ride-out*) it may push some people. But that is part of the fun, surely? It will have to include one 350 mile day to come home. But, if punters wish, much of that can be knocked off on a motorway.

What's involved?

First off, I am not a professional tour operator. It's just a jaunt, nothing more.

Timing? Probably late spring or early summer. Possibly around the later May Bank Holiday.

Four days away. Possibly, Friday, Saturday, Sunday and the Bank Holiday Monday.

Out and back on the Chunnel. OK it's more expensive than the ferry but it's less of a faff and the hour saved is handy. Book your own tickets.

Probably two hotels. Both Logis de France, The most southerly one near Dijon, from where we will be returning, hence the 350 odd mile run to Calais. I will make the reservations for everyone.

Cost: If you share a room and don't go too far off-piste on the beers / a la carte, it will not be huge. I am not though going to compete with the Formula 1 or homogenised hotels, which would be cheaper. I could do some likely costings in the New Year if anyone is desperate to know.

Deposit: I will (probably) require a deposit, only because I will need to secure the rooms in what are family hotels. Again, I can let you know this in the New Year.

Number of tourists? As this is geared to non-regular tourists I would like to limit it to six bikes. Pillions are welcome.

What to expect?

Weather, I can't do much about it, sorry.