F800gs – wobbly bike? Or wobbly rider?

dillthedog

Hi, I have had the 800gs since early September I love the bike, ride it every day and have done about 2500 miles on it. Before that I had the F650 for 5 years and before that I was on a Yamaha XT500 Thumper. I am by no means a novice rider, but at the same time I have never done motocross or any serious off roading.

The 800 has Bridgestone Battle-wing s, I know they are not as good as the Metzeler Tourance but that’s what it came with so I have been trying to get my moneys worth out of them.

Sooooo, I have a weird thing that has started to happen round about 2000 miles. The slightest change in levels on the road, hitting the edge of a white line or seam of some previous road works, it’s like someone has got hold of the rear carrier and given me a tug to the side. It’s most un-nerving. I am always a wuss in the wet but recently after a couple of front wheel drifts in some farmers mud left on the road, :spitfire my confidence has gone when its wet to the extent that I feel like a complete novice!! :( In the wet it feels so unstable, not like riding on a knife edge…more like on a broom handle! If that makes sense?

I have not played with the suspension settings, and it has the right tyre pressures.

Have any other 800gs riders had similar experiences? Any suggestions on how to fix it?.....is it me?

Many thanks.

Dillthedog

Oh and if "everywherevirtually" reads this, hi, it’s me! We met at touratech. I ordered my bike from Williams the day you picked yours up :D:D

Can't say I have noticed anything like it on mine after a 1000miles. Mine feels properly planted and I get good lean angles with my TKC's. Are you sure everything on the bike is done up and tight? Might be good to give it a extensive once over to make sure something hasn't come loose.