Cat D F800GS, Should I buy it?

davenwalker

Hi All

Very tempted by a Cat D 800 GS I saw on fleabay a week or two ago, the auction ended without hitting reserve. I decided to call the guy, and he said I could have it for £4500. Got minor damage to left hand side, cosmetic, couple dings in exhaust, and cracked light. Got 6000 miles on it.

The cosmetics don't concern me, and I'll probably want to replace the std pipe anyway :) I came to the UK from South Africa to make the foreign currency to fund my dream trip riding home from here in 2010. My plan is to buy the bike, and slowly do it up over time, until the bike, my bank balance, and me are ready for the trip.

So...should I buy it???

Concerns are regarding the Cat D aspect are:

-Problems insuring the bike?
-BMW warranty still applicable?
-Would there be potential problems with paperwork when i take the bike out the country and through all the other countries, specifically due to it being a Cat D??

Like i said I'm new to the country, so not sure how the red tape will be affected??

So you would you go for it??????????

Hi All

Very tempted by a Cat D 800 GS I saw on fleabay a week or two ago, the auction ended without hitting reserve. I decided to call the guy, and he said I could have it for £4500. Got minor damage to left hand side, cosmetic, couple dings in exhaust, and cracked light. Got 6000 miles on it.

The cosmetics don't concern me, and I'll probably want to replace the std pipe anyway :) I came to the UK from South Africa to make the foreign currency to fund my dream trip riding home from here in 2010. My plan is to buy the bike, and slowly do it up over time, until the bike, my bank balance, and me are ready for the trip.

So...should I buy it??? YES!!

Concerns are regarding the Cat D aspect are:

-Problems insuring the bike? NO
-BMW warranty still applicable?NO