GPS & topographical mapping?

Possu

Reaction score
Looking for a GPS unit that I can fit to a bike that will record offroad tracks, store them & then allow me to use them at a later date.

Most use will be in the UK but also include the Pyrenees & the Alps etc.

Are there any units that take OS maps? If so, what are they & how much are the maps?

I'm thinking of the Garmin 60csx, Oregon & Colorado? Any others I should be thinking of? Prefer to stick with Garmin if possible as I also have a NavII.

BTW, I'm a numpty novice at this, all help appreciated. :thumb

Satmap AT10 is much better than the Garmin but its not designed for road use. Its a fantastic piece of equipment when used correctly i.e its for off road use only.

GPS/Topo

GPSMap60CSX + 2Gb micro SD card will do exactly what you want. It will carry Topo maps, and CN2009, and you can switch between them. You can set it to log tracks to the card, giving you ample capacity.

GPSMap60CSX + 2Gb micro SD card will do exactly what you want. It will carry Topo maps, and CN2009, and you can switch between them. You can set it to log tracks to the card, giving you ample capacity.

Thanks, confirms that the 60csx is the way to go, any idea's where to get a good deal?

60CSX

Ebay is your friend!! I wouldn't worry too much about the basemap, as you won't be using it much, and I would also look for a deal on a NOH/white box unit - I've had a couple of these and not had any problems at all. As for mapping, well there are a number of alternatives including torrent sites, but that is a matter for your conscience...........

Don't pay for mapping a micro SD card though, apparently you can only use it on the GPS, and it cannot be uploaded and used on the PC.
Feel free to PM me if you need further assistance.

Steve,
the 60CSX won't take OS maps (presume you realise this?). It does have kick-ass fix times though and satellite retention is second to none.