Olympus EP-1 or Nikon D90

sijohnston

Reaction score
I am starting to put pennies aside for a new DSLR. I don't want to go cheap as I don't want to buy twice. Before today it was either the Canon EOS500D or the NikonD90. The Canon has since been binned, and something else has arisen on the radar. Last week Olympus launched the new EP-1 camera, which is this new micro four-thirds technology. Launched with for the 50 years anniversary of the original Olympus Pen, it is possibly the sexiest camera on the market. With the additional optical viewfinder, pancake lenses, and lens, it works out at a little more than the NikonD90, which is much bigger and bulkier but uses the classic SLR technology.
Anyway, as I'm a relative newbie to all things photographic, I was wondering if there were any avid camera mag readers and users on here that might be able to cast their pearls before this particular pig? One other thing is that the Olympus is so compact and robust, it will be easier to haul on a big overland trip. What think ye?:rob

The most important thing about a camera is you.

Or more importantly - howe you feel when using it.

Canon, Olympus, Nikon and othes all make excellent cameras, and no doubt once you have decided on the functions that you need (rather than necessarily want :augie ) then you will find that there are probably a number of cameras that fit the bill. In fact you've already mentioned narrowing it down to 2 (Canon & Nikon) and then a new contender comes along.

So my advice to you is simple
  • decide what functions you really need, and then look at the extra functionality that the camera offers within the budget that you have. (don't forget the cost of the farkles (lenses/tripod/flash depending upon requirements - but theyre likely to be similar regardless of the camera)