BMW indicator system ?

Tiger-G

Hello All,

Hope you don't mind me dropping in your forum to try and get some info on the BMW indicator system ?

In particular, I mean on a bike like the F650 as a learner bike.

I'm a motorcycle Instructor in the UK and would like to know how long it takes someone new to bikes to fully get used to the BMW indicator system so they never hit the horn, never have a problem cancelling, never have to look down at the indicator switchgear and can do this 100% of the time ?

How long do you think it would take someone to get used to it, who has just completed a CBT on a 125cc Jap bike with conventional switchgear and has gone onto the F650, bearing in mind he is on a very steep learning curve and new to bikes and only has aprox 12 hours on the bike to pass his test ?

Do you think the self cancelling mechanism would have any safety implications to a new to bikes trainee on test, i.e. - cancelling before getting to a right hand turn roundabout ??

I look forward to your input :)

I'd guess that seeing as its all pretty new to a learner anyway that a few days use should see them adapted to the BMW system. I cant even remember how long it took to adapt after about 4 years on jap bikes so I guess it was pretty painless.

I personally took to it straight away, and as already said, the newbie wouldn't have had much time to get used to the conventional way anyway.

With regards to the self cancelling, I personally don't think it's a good idea to learn on a bike with this as they could learn with bad habits making it much harder to rectify in the future. Turning off your indicators is hugely important and I think learning by your mistakes is one of the best ways to learn. I remember several occasions my instructor shouting at me over the radio to turn my indicators off, and it was a valuable lesson.

Just my two penneth worth :thumb2

I thought the 650 had the same system as any jap bike, only the big gs' get the "different" system:nenau