Question from a new guy

Flyer

Reaction score
Hi guys

I'm relatively new to biking (passed a DAS course in June) apart from owning a Triumph Tigress 250 scooter as a lad - a very long time ago.

Knowing very little about bikes, I had to decide what steed to buy as my first foray into 2-wheeled ownership. I didn't want an out-and-out sports bike (I'm to old, and not that shape any more (!), and I didn't want a tourer (not old enough yet for the pipe and slippers).

So I bought a Honda VFR; an immaculate 'R' reg one. A versatile all-rounder. It's fast, handles well, is comfortable, not expensive, looks good, and is very well made. But it's a bit, umm, 'uninvolving'. On a ride-out in the Peak on Sunday I met a guy with a GS. He used to own a VFR and had found the same as me - an excellent bike, but a bit bland and characterless. Not so his BM, he said.

So is the GS really that different? Does it have loads of character? Is it worth all that money (it would probably cost me at least 4K to trade up - to a bike that's technically inferior)?

Comments please!

Flyer

All I can suggest is get down to your local BMW shop, look interested and blag a nice long test ride.

Once you get the grin off your face, then you can make a decision!
:D :rolleyes: :D

Iain

Technically Inferior!!! People have been shot for saying less.

Seriously the GS are great bikes. On paper they look lame when compared to most Japanese bikes but on the road they will more than hold their own against virtually anything and on top of that you can tour, commute and if your very brave Chuck them through some mud.

If you look around the Board you will see a very broad spectrum of bike riders, many who ride Japanese sports machines as well, who hold the GS's in very high regard.

If you are thinking of trying a GS ask a local dealer for a test ride. You will not be dissapointed.

Cheers

Rob