Noise through Autocom

beemerbird

Please help! I have an Autocom Pro 7 Sport on my 12GS, running a UHF and an iPod. This was installed by the local BMW dealer on Friday, but they had never installed one with either UHF or iPod before.

With the ignition ON, there is just the very slightest hiss, almost inaudible. But as soon as I start the engine, it builds to a totally unacceptable level. As I am leaving Tasmania tonight for an 8 week, 18000km trip through the outback, I'd really like to have it working properly.

Has anyone any helpful suggestions, please? I'm NOT technically/mechanically minded, so please keep it as simple as possible!!

Thanks in advance

Margaret
blue/black/black

Hi

1) Where is the Autocom, iPod & UHF unit located.........?

2) Are ALL power & ancilliary cables screened?

Cheers

Dutch

Just took delivery of my GSAdv with Autocom - Active7. No hissing here, although I can hear a ticking noise which sounds like the HT side of the ignition.

Its definately not a major prob though.

Not to derail - but as I've never had a autocom - and it sounds like the lady above hasn't either. Is it normal to hear *any* engine related noises through the autocom?

Had my autocom fitted on my 1150GS for a couple of years and on a K12RS for about 3 years before that. Never had any noise on it so no, don't think it is 'normal'.

Same here.........ticking RF interference from HT current....

Well worth speaking the the guys at Autocom...they seem very helpfull and knowledgeable......sounds like perhaps the suppression isn't geared to sort out interference in the UHF range....if anyone will know though, they will.

I guess that since you are leaving "tonight", this and any other reply will be too late.
The simplest solution may be to fit an isolator cable, available from http://www.accessoryworkshop.com/products/index.html
However, delivery will take a week.
I am having the same problem.