Boingy bits and rubber

Russ

:D:D

Now that i have your attention :D ;)

Anyone ridden their 1200 with 'vigour'

Despite having only covered a few hundred miles the GS tempts me into riding like i've stolen it, however i have noticed the following problems;

I keep catching wing mirrors with the handguards...oops! :eek:

But more importantly i'm not sure the tyres/suspenders are up to scratch.

Having fettled with the pre-load it is somewhere between normal and medium, the rear feels firm but the rear wheel seems to lift off the ground when accelerating reasonably hard over a series of bumps, also blasting round a bend over a few slightly sunken drain covers the rear got a little out of shape, nothing dramatic (in fact it was fun :D) but it left me wondering whether
the suspension is not quite setup right?
its a bit stiff becuase its new?
or a combination of the above?

Carving through the twisties, the bike is superbly composed...so i'm not quite sure, esp. as i'm no expert on suspension

To add to the equation having always ridden Bridgestone shod sports bikes (BT020s), i'm wondering whether the Metzler tourances that are currently on the bike are a 'good' tyre for this bike or considered a 'crap' tyre for this bike.
I noticed its quite easy to get the wheels locked up going over bumps and stuff, so perhaps its my insensitivity to the Servo assisted brakes?

Any more experienced 1200 owners help is appreciated

Ta :)

PS a bit has already fallen off, the cover on the thingy where the 3 parts of the trellis frame meet (just above the right footpeg) ITYKWIM ;)

Russ said:
:D:D
PS a bit has already fallen off, the cover on the thingy where the 3 parts of the trellis frame meet (just above the right footpeg) ITYKWIM ;)

I'd be surprised if there was a cover on that side as standard.
I lost my left dust cover in a ford somewhere near Dartmoor though :)

The standard tyres seem surprisingly good for road use.