PDA

View Full Version : Google map route import?



Bryn
13-07-13, 08:59
Sorry if this has been answered before......

Just stuck a google map route on the test section ..that seemed to work ....:D.. is there any way that the route I created on google maps can be saved to basecamp... so it can be transferred to my 660?

Thanks :beerjug:
<iframe width="425" height="350" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&amp;source=s_d&amp;saddr=Calais,+France&amp;daddr=50. 0839256,3.6073625+to:49.831095,4.421577+to:49.3049 53,5.820573+to:49.222004,5.96659+to:49.1155024,6.2 958439+to:49.1012522,6.5198535+to:49.117757,6.6315 591+to:Bad+Peterstal-Griesbach,+Germany&amp;hl=en&amp;geocode=FXp0CQMdflwcAClj4 _HXdT_cRzH0edKM4Nm-rA%3BFVU4_AIdQgs3ACmFHysjLYTCRzGDYLnLp_g94w%3BFbdc-AIdyXdDACnfR5YrwPjpRzHxkboLnTI6YA%3BFXlV8AIdndBYAC l15koM_NPqRzG5A0dz98Y5MQ%3BFXQR7wId_gpbACkB4l21Eiq VRzHEyS4dZAEKbQ%3BFW5x7QIdIxFgACmTAa5wy-CURzG6-e_jRkorKg%3BFcQ57QIdLXxjACnnRqjQh_uURzGKIlZHYpu07w %3BFT167QIdhzBlACk1JxHJFP-URzFXBU5exywoxQ%3BFdv04gId6yd9ACnb53ujHy2XRzGAXN-lt2sfBA&amp;sll=49.127365,6.59317&amp;sspn=0.040383,0.1114 08&amp;mra=dpe&amp;mrsp=7&amp;sz=14&amp;via=1,2,3,4,5,6,7&amp;ie=UTF8&amp; ll=49.127365,6.59317&amp;spn=0.040383,0.111408&amp;t=m&amp;out put=embed"></iframe><br /><small><a href="https://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&amp;source=embed&amp;saddr=Calais,+France&amp;daddr=5 0.0839256,3.6073625+to:49.831095,4.421577+to:49.30 4953,5.820573+to:49.222004,5.96659+to:49.1155024,6 .2958439+to:49.1012522,6.5198535+to:49.117757,6.63 15591+to:Bad+Peterstal-Griesbach,+Germany&amp;hl=en&amp;geocode=FXp0CQMdflwcAClj4 _HXdT_cRzH0edKM4Nm-rA%3BFVU4_AIdQgs3ACmFHysjLYTCRzGDYLnLp_g94w%3BFbdc-AIdyXdDACnfR5YrwPjpRzHxkboLnTI6YA%3BFXlV8AIdndBYAC l15koM_NPqRzG5A0dz98Y5MQ%3BFXQR7wId_gpbACkB4l21Eiq VRzHEyS4dZAEKbQ%3BFW5x7QIdIxFgACmTAa5wy-CURzG6-e_jRkorKg%3BFcQ57QIdLXxjACnnRqjQh_uURzGKIlZHYpu07w %3BFT167QIdhzBlACk1JxHJFP-URzFXBU5exywoxQ%3BFdv04gId6yd9ACnb53ujHy2XRzGAXN-lt2sfBA&amp;sll=49.127365,6.59317&amp;sspn=0.040383,0.1114 08&amp;mra=dpe&amp;mrsp=7&amp;sz=14&amp;via=1,2,3,4,5,6,7&amp;ie=UTF8&amp; ll=49.127365,6.59317&amp;spn=0.040383,0.111408&amp;t=m" style="color:#0000FF;text-align:left">View Larger Map</a></small>

Wapping
16-07-13, 16:03
Fill yer boots...

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=google+maps+to+basecamp&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-gb:IE-Address&ie=&oe=&safe=active&redir_esc=&ei=im7lUdS4G6mJ7AapwYGYBw

The Nutty GSER
16-07-13, 16:59
About half an hour ago, I downloaded TYRE, which uses Google maps. You can plan a route, save it as a GPX file, then import it into Basecamp.:thumb:beerjug::JB

Sleepy
16-07-13, 17:11
Mapsource... Every bit as good as Google Maps. Plus, no need to faff about with converting...

The Grey One
16-07-13, 19:06
Mapsource... Every bit as good as Google Maps. Plus, no need to faff about with converting...

Better I would say, at least the maps are more reliable than Google maps

John

Bryn
16-07-13, 20:06
Thanks for all the replies chaps. :beerjug:
The problem I seem to have is that I plan routes very infrequently.. And so I'm always on the look out for an easier way.

Got basecamp.. Which I thought had replaced mapsource. My planning is all on a Mac, so if I can revert to mapsource and run it on my mac I think I can get some practice in.....

Managed in the past to sort a route for 20 down to Croatia and up through Slovakia, so how bad can it be :rob

slimpickings
16-07-13, 20:16
similar question


Is it possible to put a google map on to TOM TOM Rider2

Bumpkin
16-07-13, 21:10
Use TYRE (http://www.tyretotravel.com/) or ITN Converter (http://www.benichou-software.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=4&Itemid=2&lang=en), these use the Google Maps API and should be relatively familair. Both programs can save routes in the ITN format.

Me, I use Basecamp, ITN Converter and occasionally Google Maps for finding locations and the creating way-points. No issues with Basecamp (apart from searching) but use ITN Converter as it can use Michelin Mapping data which has the green edged roads.

weavo
16-07-13, 21:18
Another one for Tyre.
Same maps as Goggle and send it straight to your 660.
Basecamp is good if you use it a lot but for me its TYRE.

iand46
17-07-13, 07:51
Thanks for all the replies chaps. :beerjug:
The problem I seem to have is that I plan routes very infrequently.. And so I'm always on the look out for an easier way.

Got basecamp.. Which I thought had replaced mapsource. My planning is all on a Mac, so if I can revert to mapsource and run it on my mac I think I can get some practice in.....

Managed in the past to sort a route for 20 down to Croatia and up through Slovakia, so how bad can it be :rob

Mapsource only works with Windows not iOS. You would have to get Windows onto your Mac to use it, can be done but you would have to Google it. Would persevere with Basecamp as Garmin dont support Mapsource any more. :thumb2

iand46
17-07-13, 08:00
Mapsource only works with Windows not iOS. You would have to get Windows onto your Mac to use it, can be done but you would have to Google it. Would persevere with Basecamp as Garmin dont support Mapsource any more. :thumb2

The above mentioned Tyre & ITN Converter programs also only work with Windows. :blast

The Nutty GSER
17-07-13, 09:32
I've just planned a route in TYRE, saved as a GPX, then imported into Basecamp.:beerjug:

However, it's imported two options; one is a straight purple line, which has knocked about 50 miles off the route I planned (I planned no motorways, but the purple route includes several:blast), and the other route has a set of feet next to it, as if it's a route on foot.

I know that I can copy the route with the feet to the GPS, but will it try taking me on any weird and wonderful detours? Is there a way to convert this to the motorbike route without it changing any of the roads I've entered?

The Grey One
17-07-13, 09:36
I've just planned a route in TYRE, saved as a GPX, then imported into Basecamp.:beerjug:

However, it's imported two options; one is a straight purple line, which has knocked about 50 miles off the route I planned (I planned no motorways, but the purple route includes several:blast), and the other route has a set of feet next to it, as if it's a route on foot.

I know that I can copy the route with the feet to the GPS, but will it try taking me on any weird and wonderful detours? Is there a way to convert this to the motorbike route without it changing any of the roads I've entered?

You need to recalculate imported gpx files to create the route you also need to tell Basecamp how you are travelling, if you choose Motorcycle you might like to adjust the settings from those that Auntie Garmin think are suitable.

John

The Nutty GSER
17-07-13, 09:40
You need to recalculate imported gpx files to create the route you also need to tell Basecamp how you are travelling, if you choose Motorcycle you might like to adjust the settings from those that Auntie Garmin think are suitable.

John

Thanks John. It's set to motorbike by default, so how do I recalculate the imported file?

iand46
17-07-13, 12:39
Thanks John. It's set to motorbike by default, so how do I recalculate the imported file?

1.Double-click a route.
2.Click Recalculate to save and recalculate the route. :thumb

iand46
17-07-13, 12:48
I've just planned a route in TYRE, saved as a GPX, then imported into Basecamp.:beerjug:

However, it's imported two options; one is a straight purple line, which has knocked about 50 miles off the route I planned (I planned no motorways, but the purple route includes several:blast), and the other route has a set of feet next to it, as if it's a route on foot.

I know that I can copy the route with the feet to the GPS, but will it try taking me on any weird and wonderful detours? Is there a way to convert this to the motorbike route without it changing any of the roads I've entered?

Maybe your Basecamp is set up for "fastest" route therefore using motorways. :blagblah

iand46
17-07-13, 13:02
similar question


Is it possible to put a google map on to TOM TOM Rider2

Hope this helps

Lets you use Google maps to plan routes on the PC (with waypoints) which you then download to your TTRs SD card.

How to install.

Plan your route (with waypoints) on the Google maps and give your route a name etc. When finished close the program and a small window prompts you to save your route.

Connect the TTR to your PC by usb cable (don't use TomTom Home), open My Computer and you'll notice you have an extra drive letter listed with the other drives. This is the SD card of your Tomtom.

Double click on this see that there is a folder called ITN and this is where your Tomtom keeps it's itinerary files. Copy or save the itn file (your new route) from your pc into this folder, you will automatically be able to access it though your Tomtom afterwards (as an Itinerary route). :thumb2

slimpickings
17-07-13, 14:14
Hope this helps

Lets you use Google maps to plan routes on the PC (with waypoints) which you then download to your TTRs SD card.

How to install.

Plan your route (with waypoints) on the Google maps and give your route a name etc. When finished close the program and a small window prompts you to save your route.

Connect the TTR to your PC by usb cable (don't use TomTom Home), open My Computer and you'll notice you have an extra drive letter listed with the other drives. This is the SD card of your Tomtom.

Double click on this see that there is a folder called ITN and this is where your Tomtom keeps it's itinerary files. Copy or save the itn file (your new route) from your pc into this folder, you will automatically be able to access it though your Tomtom afterwards (as an Itinerary route). :thumb2


You sir are a very clever man

I will try this tonight
:thumb2

The Nutty GSER
17-07-13, 14:26
1.Double-click a route.
2.Click Recalculate to save and recalculate the route. :thumb

Just done that, and it's added 150 miles to the route!:blast

Greg Masters
17-07-13, 14:26
I hope that you're not planning a trip to Jura (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-23331456).

:rolleyes:

The Nutty GSER
17-07-13, 14:47
Just done that, and it's added 150 miles to the route!:blast

In Basecamp, the route is showing, and is ready to export to the Navigator, but it shows two feet next to the route name, rather than a picture of a motorbike. Will this cause a problem if I just export it like that? The route looks fine in Basecamp.

iand46
17-07-13, 15:44
In Basecamp, the route is showing, and is ready to export to the Navigator, but it shows two feet next to the route name, rather than a picture of a motorbike. Will this cause a problem if I just export it like that? The route looks fine in Basecamp.

Hope you ride offroad because that route sounds like footpaths. Dont forget Basecamp is also used for all activities with all Garmin GPS. :nenau

The Nutty GSER
17-07-13, 15:48
Hope you ride offroad because that route sounds like footpaths. Dont forget Basecamp is also used for all activities with all Garmin GPS. :nenau

That's what I thought, but when you zoom right in, the route is definitely on the same roads as in TYRE. When I got Basecamp to recalculate it, it went all wiggly, and added another 150 miles to the route.:blast

Bumpkin
17-07-13, 16:52
When I got Basecamp to recalculate it, it went all wiggly, and added another 150 miles to the route.:blast

You might be suffering from the Motorcycle Profile pre-set avoidance crazies :eyebrow :nenau

Have a look here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tf31DO7B438), it had me stumped for a while.

iand46
17-07-13, 16:56
That's what I thought, but when you zoom right in, the route is definitely on the same roads as in TYRE. When I got Basecamp to recalculate it, it went all wiggly, and added another 150 miles to the route.:blast

Try playing with all the preferences in Basecamp settings. Shortest, fastest, scenic, motorways, tolls, economic routes what ever it's got. Might be lot easier to get your head around Basecamp routing. Remember it's using the very same maps as your BMW or Garmin unit. :type

The Nutty GSER
17-07-13, 18:56
Try playing with all the preferences in Basecamp settings. Shortest, fastest, scenic, motorways, tolls, economic routes what ever it's got. Might be lot easier to get your head around Basecamp routing. Remember it's using the very same maps as your BMW or Garmin unit. :type

Ok, I'll try turning all the preferences off, and see how the next route imports:thumb

The Grey One
17-07-13, 19:09
Ok, I'll try turning all the preferences off, and see how the next route imports:thumb

Not a good idea, just have a look at the preferences and select what is best for you. You should be in charge not the machine.

John

Wapping
17-07-13, 19:30
You should be in charge not the machine.


The machine is when he rides along, so he might as well go the whole hog :D

The Nutty GSER
17-07-13, 19:59
The machine is when he rides along, so he might as well go the whole hog :D

:pullface:D