Regular or Adventure GS v Varadero

Richard34

Hey all - I'm completely new to the Beemers and have arranged a test ride from Park Lane BMW (only an hour mind, which isn't really enough especially in Central London!!) Anyway, I thought I'd go for the standard GS until I had a quick look at the Adventure version which they had in the basement, I really liked the look of it. Why is it that all the trade press reviews give the adventure 3 stars as opposed to 5 for the standard - if it's basically the same with some extras bolted on?
Also anyone experienced the Honda Varadero - cheaper and readily available and my only other possibility.

Hi Richard

I'm also new to BM's and I too was unsure about what to go for having come from Japanese Sportbikes.

However I now have an Adventure on order (March 1st) after a test ride. I can only guess that the reason for the lower star rating compared to the standard bike is that the Adventure is more expensive, taller and therefore perceivably not as good value than the regular model (which less face it will do everything that the adventure will do).

When I first started looking for what is known as a "big Trial bike" I was drawn to the obvious choices (Tiger, Varedero, V-Strom etc.) but one bike stood out as the only bike really capable of going off road and that was the BMW R1150GS. If you look at people who have crossed continents on their bikes, 9 times out of 10 it will be on a BMW GS.