Quest.. what do i need?

Bryn

Mod Squad
Reaction score
Settled on a Garmin Quest i think... E-mailed Autocom and they promptly responded with parts 57 and 171 needed to run it on Active 7 smart...

Part 57: Twin isolated input adaptor lead (170mm) and 3.5mm jack plug for kits 1, 3 and 6 phone socket. Inputs A for typical GPS or Radar, input B for phone (Red top and black base box)

Part 171: GPS interface lead (GPS 2.5)

Looking on GPS warehouse they are doing quest with bike ram mount for £ 354.95

Question is, is this the cheapest and best solution to mounting on an 1150, and as the autocom bits are going to cost me £29 plus delivery.. is there an alternative?

I'm a total novice with GPS so haven't got a clue (Fanum has already pointed me in the right direction though)

Realise i could probably find the answer somewhere on here, but i want the bits before i am too old to appreciate them!

:beerjug: Bryn

As your list stands there Bryn you have everything lined up except bike power for the Quest. It has a built-in li-ion rechargeable which can give 'up to' 20 hours usage between charges.

Unilke all the other units (and due to it low voltage) the power kits are pricey AND mount specific. If you buy a RAM cradle you will need the RAM-PAC too (another £40). These I believe are just becoming available according to RAM-MAN's posts.

If you went for an alternative mount (Touratech or Garmin say) then you would also need their power kits. The Garmin one has been the most accessible to date.

Even if you decide on Garmin or Touratech mounts the RAM arms & U-bolt mounts make for a veritable feast of mounting options.

There is also the Migsel Mount (which I use for my 2610) but I'm reluctant to reccommend one of these for a Quest until you have tried it for size personally. There are some (like Fanny) who find it no problem but in the workshops I have done 8-10 (out of 50) found the distance too far from them.