Quest ... where are my waypoints?

samtheeagle

Greetings from across the pond! The folks on AdvRider don't seem to have the same fountain of knowledge as you blokes so I thought I'd post my question to you.

I've got a new Quest that I've been using for a month now (and previously I'd been using an eTrex Vista for several years). So I'm a nOOb, but I'm not *that* much of a nOOb.

My problem yesterday was this: On my Quest I had previously loaded detailed maps and waypoints. Everything was grand. I am about to go on a holiday, so I added to my waypoints file (on my pc) a bunch of waypoints of restaurants, etc. Then I downloaded the waypoints from my file (both the new waypoints and the old waypoints) onto my Quest. Because I'm wicked smart I figured I better test the new data out before happily driving off... and I could NOT do a "find" of "my favorites/locations" to find any of the new waypoints. The previously loaded waypoints were visible under the "my favorites" menu, but my new waypoints were not there. But wait that's not all. It gets weirder. If I pan the map to the where I will be on holiday, I can see my new waypoint icons! So the new waypoints *did* download to the Quest but I can not search for them either under "all" or under "my favorites".

I eventually decided to try to delete all of my waypoints and re-import them all again. I couldn't find a "delete all of my favorite waypoints" option, so I deleted all of my settings. :-( This kind of sucked. After I re-imported my waypoints, I could then see and search on all of my personal waypoints and things seem to work fine.

1. Is there a problem with downloading waypoints after you had previously downloaded waypoints? How come I experienced this weird behavior?

2. How the heck do I delete my personal waypoints (without deleting *all* of my personal settings)?

Thanks! :bow

Sam

answer

FIND
MY LOCATIONS
MENU
select FIND BY NAME instead of FIND NEAREST
OK

Sherpa ;)

sherpa said:
FIND
MY LOCATIONS
MENU