first trip abroad friday

cral

Reaction score
setting off friday for the alps :thumb , four of us,this is my first time over the water on the bike so cum on give us a tip or two, :beerjug:
hotel booked in the tyrol,
saturday 600 mile day so how do i cope with that, :confused: whats german/ dutch for unleaded :nenau
if i see you there blues i'll give you a wave, planning stelvio, grossglockner and fuela? speeling again. :thumb
will try very hard when i get back to post a write up

I am riding down to Italy this week end leaving on Friday. I'll leave devon and be at the eurotunnel by 7 pm. Then the day after I should ride the 600 miles to Milan. Wave me if you see a yellow 1200 with an happy chap on it

Tips? That yellow snow.....

Just have fun! Don't turn up to places in the dark, do as many miles in the morning as possible whilst you're awake preferably, old jonny foreigner comes up pretty quick in the outside lane!

Just take your time,its not a race,if you dont make time to first hotel-there are plenty more! day time rides only and adjust ur mirrors while in the tunnel,its surprising to see all the wobbly bikers and caravanners trying to do their mirrors in the first few kms on foreign soil!but most of all enjoy it!!

Like wise, frist trip on the bike abroad, off to France Friday! roll on!!!!!!!!!! :thumb

Quote,
Visitors using Austrian motorways and "A" roads should ensure their vehicles are properly documented and must display a Motorway Vignette (autobahnvignette) on their vehicle as they enter Austria. Failure to have one will mean a heavy, on the spot fine. Motorway Vignettes are obtainable at all major border crossings into Austria and at larger petrol stations. Special short-stay autobahnvignette are available at €7.60 fir 10 days or 2 months at €21.80.

Fines are around £40 if you get caught without one, don't ask how I know :(

Hope you have a clear day on the Grossglockner, it’s a terrific road, :)