Adding RAM

Bødkerman

Reaction score
I have recently added a printer/scanner/copier to the IT kit at home, it is an HP 2100 and I have now found that the existing 128 RAM on the PC is insufficient and the it keeps locking up and I have to restart all the time.

Am I right in presuming that I need to 'add RAM' & if so is it a simple task of just poping in to local IT shop, buying 256 'ram boards' & pluging in...If not what should I be looking for in advance of purchase. There is at least 1 spare slot adjacent to the existing RAM board that is empty.

Cooperman

IT Klutz.

pretty much - at a guess i'd say you want maybe a 256k pc133 memory 'stick' or SDRAM. there's no voodoo to it - buy the right stick, plonk it in the slot, boot up and away you go.

double check with your shop - tell them what machine it is and they'll confirm spec.

pr0ne

(having said that, i take no responsibility if it doesn't work!! i've done myself loads of times fine tho, and i'm a novice/bodge-merchant)

are you sure insuffiient RAM is the problem?

having said that, adding RAM is easy, buing the right sort less so.

i'd buy it from "crucial". good product, great on-line RAM selector and cheap.

Mike,

Does your machine lock up when you are using the printer or is it a random thing. If its random their may be a resource conflict. I assume that your new HP device is a USB item. If you can check your resources (varies with operating system) it may be something simple

this is my work machine (windows 2K). A conflict will be highlighted.

If you are not sure just post your operating system and machine and I will run you through it.

Attachments

• resource.jpg
    resource.jpg
    108 KB · Views: 71
i cannot imagine that 128mb of RAM is insufficient to run a scanner unless (perhaps) you are scanning at some huge resolution or possibly you are using windows XP which does need lots RAM but seldom locks up.