Route planning on Zumo

Mezza

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi (newbie question :eek: ),
I've never used a GPS before so this question is a bit basic I guess...but with regard to the Zumo (which I'm thinking about buying), how do you go about planning a route via specific roads?
I don't mean when I want to travel from A to B and ask it to calculate the quickest route, but more if I want to visit a number of places and go by specific roads and I want the unit to tell me when to turn etc so I don't miss the turnings etc.

I looked back through previous threads and one (referring to the 2610) mentioned setting a start and destination in Mapsource, then dragging the route to the roads you wanted to ride down. Does this work in the version of Mapsource that comes with the Zumo (the contents list says you get 'MapSource® City Navigator NT DVD (full-unlock)')? :nenau

Or would I have to set a load of 'vias' or waypoints to try to force the unit to use the roads I wanted to ride?

TIA,
Rich :)

I looked back through previous threads and one (referring to the 2610) mentioned setting a start and destination in Mapsource, then dragging the route to the roads you wanted to ride down. Does this work in the version of Mapsource that comes with the Zumo ? :nenau

It works the same way with all MC-Garmins. You build the route in MapSource and then upload it to the Zumo.

Zumo is a very good choise for a beginner so go ahead and buy it!

After a couple of years you can upgrade to the GPSMAP 278 if you need a more powerful GPS or to a GPSMAP 60CX if you want something more portable.

Good luck! :thumb

Thanks for the info HMR, but can one drag the route to attach it to the desired roads (having set a start and destination), or would I have to set lots of waypoints to force the route to go on the desired roads?

Thanks,
Rich