Tokyo Tuning In

Delirious

Hi Folks,

Newbie here tuning in from Tokyo. I'm a brit expat and been in Tokyo for 6 years now. Been riding bikes for 3 - 4 years as it is the best way to get around Tokyo and there are some fantastic rides to be had out there on this island. Some of my favourite trips include the Izu peninsular and the mountain range around Mt. Fuji. You can blast mountain passes and coastal roads all in the same day here :D

Anyway on to my current dilema. I have two bikes right now. An '04 Honda VFR800 VTEC and a very newly purchased BMW K1200S (Aug. '06). I love the Honda and it gets the daily abuse treatment. Commute, shopping you get the picture. The K12 is reserved for more fun rides or the days I don't have a lot to carry to work. The K12 is also not so good in town, it is hard to get the bugger over 3,000rpms with all the traffic and low speed limits. Whence it is reserved for the weekend blasts and boy is it good at that :D

I have always been a huge fan of the GS range of bikes and I really like the R1200GS. My VFR and K12 are really very similar bikes, both sports tourers. I was thinking of selling the VFR in the spring of next year and replacing it for an R1200GS. If I do this though am I just replacing the VFR with something very similar yet again? (Bear in mind I don't intend to off-road.) So instead should I go for some sort of single seated sports bike? I am also concerned that having 2 beemers will turn me into some sort of crazy beemer fanatic :ymca Oh and the final question; Is the R1200GS build quality and reliability a match on my VFR? The VFR currently has close to 37,000kms in 2.5 yrs and has never missed a beat or needed anything doing to it barring the usual consumables.

I am sure there are many people on this site that have 2 bikes. What combinations of bikes do you all have?

Well that is probably enough for my first post except to say safe riding all.

Oh the joy in the dilema's about what a 2nd bike should be ;)

Cheers,