6,000,000$ question, Which GPS?

Reaction score
Gents,

I'm new to all this GPS stuff but want to get one for my GS1200 but also want to use it in the car.
I travel europe a couple of times a year so to have these maps would be handy.
But what do i buy?
I have seen the Tom Tom rider but also see threads on Quest and garmin units.
Also which model? i have a autocom on my bike so will it work with that?
Help please, i'm sure you wont let me down.

Thanks,
Stuart:beerjug:

I bought the garmin zumo 550 it comes with brackets for the car and bike and its dead easy to use.It is quite expensive though around €850 dont know what that is in sterling.:)

Your Choice....

The difficulty is that everybody has their own combination of requirements.... so only you can make the choice...

For me personally, as good as the zumo is (previous post) at give or take £500 it's a bit over priced. I'm not doubting the unit is the latest technology and comes with lots of "extras" that some will find very useful, however all I wanted was a unit to give me solid reliability satellite navigation.....

For that reason, i chose the tried and tested Garmin 2610 unit, currently available for the bargain price of £190 (http://www.gpsw.co.uk/details/prod3267.html)

Each to their own ofcourse, it depends what "features" you require, what budget you have, etc etc.... For me, it doesn't matter too much how "pretty" the interface is, or the extra "features" what matters is the quality of the routing. Given that The map data is essentially the same (NT variant for Zumo) the quality of routing cannot be any better, so why spend £300 more on a zumo to do the same job? (just my opinion ofcourse)

For the record the Garmin 2610 also comes ready to be fitted into your car, but will need appx another £60 spending for securing to your motorcycle. (Although i believe the site i've given you a link for also do a bike package)

Good luck with your choices.....

-Stu.