Advice to a possible new GSer

kitchenpete

I'm new to motorbikes (recent DAS) and excited about getting one which allows me to:

(a) commute to work (about 20 mins through Central London);

(b) substitute for a car on journeys outside the M25 (as I don't own one and don't want to get one if I can have a bike instead!);

(c) take on weekend/holiday trips in the UK/Europe, 2 up if I want to; and

(d) something capable of dealing with farm tracks/unmade roads if I decide that's where I want to go (should also help with Ken's potholed roads near home!).

I thought the F650GS would be good for me but I found it was underpowered and very buzzy on a short stretch of motorway I tried (test ride). I don't like the power delivery on the Suzuki 600 Bandit I'm currently hiring (having learned on a Honda BROS 650 V-twin, four cylinders seem too jumpy in traffic!).

I discussed this with the man at the dealer, where I tried the F650GS and he advised me to try the 1150GS, which I've liked the look of but thought I should wait a couple of years before getting one. 3 hour test ride booked this Friday.

I've always admired BMW bikes, by the way, so no need to sell me on that point, but it would be useful to put the salesman's patter in perspective.

Essentially, I'd like your considered/enthusiastic comments on:

(a) what I should I be aware of when I test ride it (apart from the £1000 excess, which will ensure I'm careful!)?

(b) what won't I have read about the 1150GS in bike mags (do anything but big/heavy and indicators/servo brakes are odd)?

(c) any considerations for long term happiness if I'm hooked by the test ride?

I can afford to get one, if I decide to go for that, though the insurance may be crippling (I'm 32 but no experience/no claims)! Oh, I'm 5'11" and 15 stone, so I'm not too scared if it's size.

Kitchenpete!!??