Cool / Airtex Jackets - Opinions ?

Voyager

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Folks,

I am off to Norway & Sweden in July and then to Spain & Morocco in October.

I have been looking at jackets suitable for use in hot climates.

A search of the stalls at the BMF Rally on Saturday produced four candidates. All have mesh panels front & back, yet still have elbow, shoulder & back armour (actually, the RTS didn't have back armour).

The one I like best is the 'Cool' mesh/Airtex jacket from JTS clothing, it comes with a separate waterproof lining.

Others were RST, Joe Rocket & Hunter (claimed to be waterproof - yet it looked as though midges could fly through it !).

Has anyone used this sort of jacket, and if so - are there any pitfalls ?

Thanks.

Bob.

I have no experience of the jackets you mention, but i use a Rukka Airvantage suit all year around that uses a waterproof liner, its a great jacket but if you are out and about and you need to remove the liners, they are bulky and a rider and pillions liners would easily fill a medium sized pannier so to make full use of the clothing system you need to think ahead and leave space when packing.

Top stuff though, very waterproof with liners and very cool in the summer without:thumb

Shep

Yes, I've a FirstGear mesh jacket in hi-viz yellow. Its American and I bought it last year as I took the bike to the US for a three month trip. For much of the time in the West the daytime temperatures were up in the 90s and the hottest was in Death Valley when in Stovepipe Wells it peaked at 118f.

The jacket is in the short 'bomber' style as favoured by the Merrycans and I found it really good. The so-called waterproof lining can be removed and is no more than showerproof. I got caught a few times in heavy rain and I was soaked to the skin. When worn without the lining, it's just like riding in a t-shirt, it's that cool. The jacket comes with all of the usual armour - shoulders, elbows and back.