Level 1 course for B-Day/Xmas!

johnnystorm

Reaction score
I've just found out I'm off to Wales to muddy up one of BMW's bikes as a combo Birthday/Christmas pressie.:D

Had to choose from the 650Xcountry, 650XChallenge and the new F800GS. Clare chose the new one for me as it's closest to my 1200 I guess. Part of me fancied the new one for that reason but the Challenge as it's going to be easier to pick up (I'm realistic about my abilities!).

I've had a quick search through the archives and a few broken bones have cropped up but I'm not unduly perturbed.....:augie

As an absolute beginner would you opt for the 800 or one of the 650s? The challenge does look more like a Cross country whippet...I guess there will be a chance to try the others anyway?

I've just found out I'm off to Wales to muddy up one of BMW's bikes as a combo Birthday/Christmas pressie.:D

Had to choose from the 650Xcountry, 650XChallenge and the new F800GS. Clare chose the new one for me as it's closest to my 1200 I guess. Part of me fancied the new one for that reason but the Challenge as it's going to be easier to pick up (I'm realistic about my abilities!).

I've had a quick search through the archives and a few broken bones have cropped up but I'm not unduly perturbed.....:augie

As an absolute beginner would you opt for the 800 or one of the 650s? The challenge does look more like a Cross country whippet...I guess there will be a chance to try the others anyway?

I reckon Clare made the right choice, I did it on the 1200 a couple of years ago and found it ok, only the girls were on 650's! You'll enjoy it, and the bigger bike doesnt seem to matter when you're riding, only when you're pushing it around and lifting it after a fall.

There have been a few broken bones, mostly ankles I think getting caught on rocks sticking out of the sides of the tracks - wear decent off-road boots.

I'm a bit jealous, must do it again someday.

NigelL

You lucky man! I'm dead envious . . . but you'll LOVE it!!