Calling all Cardington assesed DAS Instructors!

Montrose Sun

Reaction score
Hi Folks

I've been instructing CBT and part 2's since 2001 and in 2006 i decided to go down to Cardington and try my CBT assesment and hopefully DAS to follow. Everything was going swimmingly and i would have / should have :( passed had it not been for a stupid mistake out on the road. For those of you who know the route as you turn left out of the training centre, you'll come to a dodgy junction where we were asked to take the examiner left. As its mostly blind to the right i decided to get him to look for his traffic coming from the right last (correct i know) but he had started to move off to the left while looking right - Doh!

Anyway, im going down at the beggining of Feb and really hope to pass both CBT and DAS assesments - especially as its a journey of over 500 miles each way for me!.........AGAIN!:blast Esp. if i have to go all the way down AGAIN for a half day DAS!

I am now feeeling more prepared for it and will continue to study and read up before i go down including a week of mock instruction / supervision the week before by way of help from the many DAS instructor at the school i work for.

What im asking though is -

Are there any instructors on this site who have been through this and can offer any general advice for me please? For both CBT AND DAS as obviously DAS is an unknown quantity to me as i never got that far :blast I feel reasonalbly confident with the CBT assesment and the use of key phrases, visual aids and the use of the DSA's publications but my main fears are -

I waffle to much!!:augie Too much talking and not enough structure

And also............

Im not very good (and never have been) under 'exam' conditions.

Can anybody who's been through it (preferably recently), give any usefull help and advice in general for the time im down there.