Front tyre problem?

Gatesy

Reaction score
Having gotten used to strange wear patterns on front tyres, usually leading edge of each block wears more than trailing edge etc, I am puzzled by the current effect. The blebs are about the size of a pound coin and repeat every second tread block right round the tyre. The fine groove that can be seen also extends right round and appears to be connected in some way to the blebs.
Question is, is this a defect, is it safe to continue using, or am I unduly worried. Tyre is Annakee 2 with about 6-7K on it.

Hope the photos appear, this is my first attempt at an upload.

Attachments

• tyre3.jpg
    tyre3.jpg
    25.7 KB · Views: 286
  • tyre1.jpg
    tyre1.jpg
    26 KB · Views: 286
  • tyre2.jpg
    tyre2.jpg
    25.7 KB · Views: 279
Are the lumpy bits soft in the sense they can be pushed down with your fingers? They look a bit like raised blisters indicating the tread is delaminating from the carcass....

If they are as hard as the tread block next to them, well I've no idea. Bizarre.

i think id be getting in touch with the manufacturer bout that, looks like a manufacturing fault,
dont mess with tyres,,
the lines running round the tyres too. they look odd, like de lamination,like rickG says

Strange thing, my front tyre (Michelin Anakee TL, approx. 9.000miles) also shows those weird shapes, not as obvious as you but noticeable nonetheless...

:confused:

Attachments

• DSCN1481 small.jpg
    DSCN1481 small.jpg
    96.9 KB · Views: 233
  • DSCN1482 small.jpg
    DSCN1482 small.jpg
    95.2 KB · Views: 243
Are the lumpy bits soft in the sense they can be pushed down with your fingers? They look a bit like raised blisters indicating the tread is delaminating from the carcass....

If they are as hard as the tread block next to them, well I've no idea. Bizarre.