Project bike advice

lewisjohn

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I have owned a 1200GSA for the last 5 years,my first BMW,I have now decided i need a project bike to work on in the evenings to keep me sane.I really like the look of some of the PD replicas on this forum.I am an Engineer by trade so can turn my hand to most things mechanical (except electrics).
The advice i am after is which donor bike should i be looking for,i am not aiming to build an exact copy of a PD bike,just something to do a bit of green laning etc.It will be a long term project,i have access to a well stocked machine shop, so am aiming to build something a bit special over the next few years,any advice would be gratefully recived

XT 500
Yamaha_XT500_dakar.jpg

HTH :beerjug:

In Oz the R65s sell for a lot less than the others, particularly the GSs, and would be a good spot to start with for a green laner.

They generally have better forks and brakes , and lower gearing.

They have sufficient power for the purpose, you will just be running about 500 revs higher than a larger bike.

Getting spoked wheels to fit might be a problem, but with a decent machine shop almost anything is possible.

The stroke is shorter than the other bikes , but apart from that most other bits interchange with the lerger bike so not a big prooblem with parts.

Project

I have owned a 1200GSA for the last 5 years,my first BMW,I have now decided i need a project bike to work on in the evenings to keep me sane.I really like the look of some of the PD replicas on this forum.I am an Engineer by trade so can turn my hand to most things mechanical (except electrics).
The advice i am after is which donor bike should i be looking for,i am not aiming to build an exact copy of a PD bike,just something to do a bit of green laning etc.It will be a long term project,i have access to a well stocked machine shop, so am aiming to build something a bit special over the next few years,any advice would be gratefully recived