Triple Black vs Rallye?

Molan

Reaction score
So I've been riding for 30+ years and owned all sorts of different bikes. For the past 10 years or so I've tended to have a rotating three bikes in the garage:

One large Beemer cruiser - was an 1150RT, currently a K1200Gt
Some sort of chopped Harley - most lethal was a 2.3 litre drag monster :)
A never ending merry go round of sports bikes - Ducati, Aprilia, MV Agusta, Suzuki Gixxer etc

In between there's been the odd Buell and an Aprilia Caponord (love Aprilia V-twins - hated the Capo!)

Of all the 'iconic' bikes out there I've never owned a GS, although I've ridden a couple of the 1150's and a 1200A.

For years I've been commuting 80'miles a day and the RT and K1200GT have been fabulous for this. However I'm nowmworking from home most of the time and want to get back into riding for fun a bit more :)

Sold my RSVR Factory last autumn and now hope to shift the latest Harley and the, high mileage GT and buy a GS.

I was tempted to go for a new water cooled one but I like the idea of the 'classic' air cooled R series so thought I might try and track down a nice recent 1200.

First thought was to go for a triple black as I thought they looked pretty cool but my local dealer was trying to convince me the Rallye was a better buy and would hold value more.

To be fair he had both in stock and, from what I could make out, the Triples were all specced out to be more or less the same as the Rallyes - they were certainly all the same price.

So my question is - which do I go for, are there things in the Rallye that make it any better than the Triple or is it just colour option stuff?

Any thoughts or advice most welcome :)

It's entirely up to you if you want to go for a "special paintwork" model, so on that basis, I would suggest the following points (in my opinion)

o Lots of people love the Triple Black, few people find them unattractive.