Are all Bluetooth intercoms crap over 70mph

Nutty

Reaction score
I've been using the Interphone F5 for a few months, and although its great for rider to pillion, phone calls, listening to music and rider to rider up to about 70mph, anything over these speeds and its very quiet.:blast I've adjusted the volume settings to manual, but they are still too quiet.:rob

Question is, are there any Bluetooth rider to rider systems that are likely to be any better at speed, or are they all like this? :nenau And its not like I can try any out before I buy, or are there any shops that offer this?

Nutty I've got the sena smh10 and they have just done a firmware update which increased the volume loads I found it loud enough but now I have to turn it down!!

u need the in-ear monitors to cut out the wind noise, i use etymotic er6's had them for years still going strong

Nutty I've got the sena smh10 and they have just done a firmware update which increased the volume loads I found it loud enough but now I have to turn it down!!

That's the one I was thinking of. Have you used it as an intercom? At what speeds?

Denise and I use Scala Q2's. They lose clarity after 80 mph, but then at that speed we only use them sparingly anyway.
Normal conversation at 70 is possible, even with earplugs in.
Mark

:nenau I didn't think an air head could do 70 ??

The problem with any in helmet speakers is they have to compete with wind noise which obviously gets louder as your speed increases. Turning the volume up just increases the noise inside the helmet to the point where you can't differentiate between sounds.

2 ways of dealing with it. Get a bloody great screen and sit in a bubble of still air. Or get in ear monitors, these will filter out ambient noise and it's surprising how low the volume needs to be to hear music/conversation clearly.

I use the sena smh10 with the ear monitor plate and remote boom, works really well.