Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 20

Thread: Getting internet access in France when you have no broadband

  1. #1
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Redditch, Worcs
    Posts
    6,859

    Getting internet access in France when you have no broadband

    Not sure if this is the right place so MODs feel free to move if necessary.

    I will be heading to France for a break in my cousin's place in October, she tells me there is no phone and therefore no broadband access. So what will be the best way of getting some internet access on my laptop? A mate has suggested buying a dongle locally, are there any other options I should consider?

    How does the dongle thing work? Will it be like a pay as you go SIM in a mobile phone and what sort of places will sell them?

    Thanks
    2010 BMW R1200GSA
    2017 Kawasaki Z1000SX Touring
    2007 Suzuki Bandit 1250S
    1989 Jaguar XJS 5.3 Convertible

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    86
    Try these... apologies if you have already... http://www.lefrenchmobile.com/index.php

  3. #3
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    1,842
    this page may be of some interest to you.

    http://oneeyeddog.wordpress.com/2011...arte-payg-sim/

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Posts
    15,663
    I think most UK dongles (or the providers) can now be bought with a data plan which is useable in continental Europe.

    Three does, and I think Vodaphone.

    Al
    If I am ever on life support - Unplug me......
    Then plug me back in..........

    See if that works .....

  5. #5
    I'm not like all the others Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Mid Suffolk (but born and bred in East London)
    Posts
    3,334
    Is there a mobile signal?.. if so you might be able to 'tether' your laptop via your phone.
    2001 Silver R1150GS,
    (Owned by me since new. Before Ewan got his.)

  6. #6
    'Don't mess with me' Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Whitstabubble
    Posts
    19,761
    Stand by to be arse-reamed by your air-time supplier.

    Unless you are 100% sure of what you will be charged, consider the free Wifi at the local McDonalds or use an internet cafe.
    Thomas! There's a mouse duck in the house!





  7. #7
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    44,128
    My Vodaphone acount allows me to 'export' my UK package to Europe for a couple of pounds a day.

    This only works of course if where you are sitting in rural France has a mobile signal of any quality. At my parens' place I had to walk to the end of their drive.

    I assume that, providing your phone is not locked to one provider, you could by a French SIM card and use that.

    Alternatively, do without the 21st century for a week.

  8. #8
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    3,327
    Quote Originally Posted by Wapping View Post
    Alternatively, do without the 21st century for a week.
    I like winding back to the days before always-on-annoyances and can happily stop at places with no wi-fi for a few days.

  9. #9
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    hampshire
    Posts
    511
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Masters View Post
    Stand by to be arse-reamed by your air-time supplier.

    Unless you are 100% sure of what you will be charged, consider the free Wifi at the local McDonalds or use an internet cafe.
    +1 for French McDonalds: good coffee and free fast wifi. It worked here today to check a couple of things.

  10. #10
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Posts
    6,592
    Three's Feel at Home plan means you can use minutes/data plans whilst in some overseas countries, which includes France.
    http://www.three.co.uk/Store/SIM/Plans_for_phones

    I have an unlocked HTC phone which could be used as a wifi hotspot on their plan.

    Alternatively, just go to McDonalds or other chain for free wifi.

    Of course, if her place is in a deep gorge in the Tarn region then you won't get a phone signal and the nearest McD will be miles away.
    This space deliberately left blank as the author writes too much pretentious bollocks as it is.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Herefordshire
    Posts
    2,246
    Have used Vodafone Eurotraveller plan for the last few years. A couple of quid a day for home tarrif abroad. Kicks in automatically as soon as you start roaming and using data. Means you just carry on as usual and don't have to worry about it. Does add up over a two week trip but, IMHO, worth it for the sheer convenience.

  12. #12
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Keston, England
    Posts
    1,621
    Chris

  13. #13

  14. #14
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cornwall, England
    Posts
    1,835
    Can you pair your laptop with your phone and create your own personnel hotspot saves the dongle
    2006 Yellow R1200 GSA

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Surrey and the Lot
    Posts
    2,356
    I'm currently on o2 Pay Monthly and have their Travel bolt-on. This gives me, to quote o2....

    You'll only be charged £1.99 for the days that you use data in Europe.

    There's no upper usage limit, but traffic management steps apply.
    Your daily data charge will apply from midnight to midnight UK time
    Details here... https://www.o2.co.uk/shop/internatio...hone-in-europe

    I tether my laptop to my iphone. It works OK even in a pretty rural area of France. I haven't used it lately as we have, at long last, had an internet connection installed at the house.

  16. #16
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    UK/France
    Posts
    13,732
    If you buy a sim in France you'll need proof of identity and address.
    3G is very restricted in rural reas compared with the uk. We barely have phone signal, let alone 3 G.
    There can only be 11 and I'm one.

    My pics

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"