GS Brake cleaning tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mzokk

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
You need to take your calipers off and clean the salt out of them and re grease the pins fairly freqently this weather. I do mine every two to three weeks. Does sound like sticking pistons.

Seizing Brakes...Prevention and cures

No matter what type of bike you ride the brakes are likely to seize in winter riding. It only takes 10mins to clean them and make sure the pistons are free IF YOU DO IT ON A REGULAR BASIS. Otherwise you may encounter seized bits if you follow this process. I started doing this with all my bikes since having to have a pad retaining pin drilled out of a calliper on a Honda superdream in order to replace the brake pads. 24!! Years ago when I was a student. Your helpful service person will never clean your callipers as part of a service….and possibly not even when replacing pads.

For my NON ABS BM 2002 with evo callipers. I undo the two front mudguard stays and undo (but don’t remove the brake pad pins on both front callipers (Torx key).

I then remove the Calliper bolts (torx bit) remove the calliper and ease the brake hose to the calliper past the mudguard stay. Remove the pad pin, anti squeal shim and pads. If you haven't done this before just remove one calliper at a time then if your wondering which way the anti squeal shim goes you can have a look. Its pretty straightforward mind. DO NOT TWIST OR KINK THE BRAKE HOSE!!