Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 139

Thread: Basecamp and Nav 5.......... My way .............

  1. #1
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Doncaster, England
    Posts
    11,595

    Basecamp and Nav 5.......... My way .............

    Base camp is not difficult i promise !

    It frustrates me to see so much animosity towards something that actually does work so this is my fool proof way of creating a route I hope it helps.

    I am assuming that all the maps are up to date and firmware too and that the same maps are on the computer and device.

    firstly In base camp click on edit and options and check the activity to motorcycle And do the same on the Nav unit. There are 2 tabs under this, General and routing. In the routing tab set whatever you like as long as this is replicated on the device. I have mine set to fastest.

    Now click the device transfer button and check the top 2 boxes at transferring routes. this will strip out any shaping points but send a second version to the device that still has them (just in case)

    In the Left hand navigation pane right click on my collections and create a new list folder and call it favourites. I keep in here all the way points i use regularly such as home or your hotel or preferably both

    So to do a route:

    Right click my collections and create another folder and call it any thing you like but i use my trip as a name I.e Scotland now right click on that and create a new list and give that a name too.

    Open that list and you will see absolutely nothing untill you copy and paste into the bottom of the left and navigation pane your start pont and end point ( get these from you favourites folder) or create way points on the fly and they will appear in here

    Now click file then new route and a box opens asking for start and end point, drag your start point from the bottom left hand pane and repeat with the end point Base camp will now create a route based on the criteria you set it in the routing options.

    This route will not be to your liking so....

    Click either on the route itself or the name of the route in the bottom left hand pane and it will become highlighted

    By using the mouse left click and the Alt key you can grab bits of the route and drag to how you want it ! but do this bit at a time. If it goes a bit pete tong just undo by clicking edit and undo.

    With a bit of practice it is quite easy !



    To transfer the route to the Nav connect the 2 up, Highlight the route in question (The one in the bottom left hand pane) and click the transfer button

    Disconect the device and turn it on and it should ask you if you want to imort the new routes it has found and obviously the answer is yes
    once it has completed that task your route is ready to go in the apps trip planner

    I dont want to be a patronising bastard here but this method does work. it is slightly different for mac but only a little
    Just a Prospect at the moment

  2. #2
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Gloucestershire UK
    Posts
    1,673
    Thanks for that. I will print this and give it a try

  3. #3
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Evesham
    Posts
    2,242
    In Mapsource - set your Nav V to mass storage mode and it will work.

    Select the routing tool from the top tool bar, click on a start point (you can zoom in to make it an exact location) move the cursor and drag the line to your finish point (zoom in here too for an exact end point.) A route will appear, use the selection tool to click on the route and move it to your requirements. Connect your device and transfer route to same. The route can be saved to a file on your computer afterwards.

    That is why some of us are frustrated with Basecamp. Yes it works but often requires more effort to get results. I'm sure it does all sorts of wonderful things but most of the time I just want to do simple things. The bells and whistles should be there only when needed and not get in the way of basic functions.

    John
    Still misbehaving.

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Doncaster, England
    Posts
    11,595
    Quote Originally Posted by The Grey One View Post
    In Mapsource - set your Nav V to mass storage mode and it will work.

    Select the routing tool from the top tool bar, click on a start point (you can zoom in to make it an exact location) move the cursor and drag the line to your finish point (zoom in here too for an exact end point.) A route will appear, use the selection tool to click on the route and move it to your requirements. Connect your device and transfer route to same. The route can be saved to a file on your computer afterwards.

    That is why some of us are frustrated with Basecamp. Yes it works but often requires more effort to get results. I'm sure it does all sorts of wonderful things but most of the time I just want to do simple things. The bells and whistles should be there only when needed and not get in the way of basic functions.

    John
    John if you try my way you may find that with a little practice and perseverance you get to like it ! sooner or later map source will die and be gone for good
    Just a Prospect at the moment

  5. #5
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    York
    Posts
    6,316
    I had to swap to Basecamp because Mapsource no longer worked properly with my nuvi (routing issues If I remember...). Basecamp does all Mapsource did, and a bit more, it just takes time to learn Basecamps way of doing things, it's really not that different.
    Two wheels > Gazelle Orange C7 Electric
    Four wheels > MX5 2.0 RF

  6. #6
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Gloucestershire UK
    Posts
    1,673
    It works. Thanks and I will keep the instructions hand for future use.

  7. #7
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Doncaster, England
    Posts
    11,595
    To follow on from this
    If you are doing a circular route- from say home to home you do the same thing i.e add start point and end point, in this case both the same and add one or tow way points by right clicking on a junction or the like and selecting the create way point option then double clicking on the route that has been created in the bottom left and pane and adding the way points in the right order. if they are in the wrong place just highlight the way point and use the up or down arrows to move it and you will see your route change.

    As before you then just drag the route around using left mouse and alt key to where you want it to go and hey presto
    Just a Prospect at the moment

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Not far away
    Posts
    1,003
    How do I get more detail om my map? It is only showing major roads

  9. #9
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    374
    Quote Originally Posted by Stonker View Post
    How do I get more detail om my map? It is only showing major roads
    Click the maps tab select Manage map products see if you have unlocked or any map products installed if not you will need to install using Garmin Express

  10. #10
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    374
    Nice one redrick this is very helpful, not quite how I build my routes but will give it a try.

    I originally used Mapsource but changed to Basecamp while I found it initially frustrating after following some youtube tutorials it became much easier.

    While no expert I get by.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Not far away
    Posts
    1,003
    I'm using CN Europe NT something 3D

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Not far away
    Posts
    1,003
    I've changed it to the one that isn't 3D and it seems better

  13. #13
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    43,048
    Quote Originally Posted by Stonker View Post
    How do I get more detail om my map? It is only showing major roads
    When you get to the screen that tells you which maps you have installed:

    1. What exactly does it list?

    2. Which one (or more) has a tick against it?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Not far away
    Posts
    1,003
    I'm using the top one (I know the maps are out of date)


  15. #15
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Barrowford Lancastershire
    Posts
    902
    Basecamp can't even do a 2 mile circular route from my house & back without taking me onto a housing estate off the main road and back out again no matter how may points I put in !

    But thanks for the effort, I'll give it another go.
    Out on the floor - K.T.F.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Not far away
    Posts
    1,003

    Click here to find out how to remove these ads

    I also notice that basecamp has the 'curvy route' option but I don't think my 660 has.

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"