To upgrade?

rhobgoblins

Reaction score
I'm currently running a '96 R1100GS which I love but I have a hankering for something newer and with a bit more "go" and at the end of this year I have an insurance policy maturing which will free up some cash. The things I like about the 1100 are it's build quality - still looks good after 20 years and ease of maintenance - I'm no mechanic but can do all the routine servicing myself. The downside is that it's a big old beast and bloody heavy and I do struggle with it at times with my short arsed frame and I do find the controls heavy and gearbox crunchy although it works fine and never jumps out of gear.

So, the question is, would a 1200 be a marked improvement - lighter/smoother/more poke and is it easy to work on? My budget will be about £6k which I guess will put me somewhere around 2007/8 years with relatively low mileage. Should I worry about final drive issues and when did BMW drop the servo brakes (don't want that complication)?

Any view appreciated.

Cheers

Rob

Its worth having look at the R800/700GS. You will get a mint one for your budget and be pleasantly suprised with its performance/reliability/frugalness.

I'm in a similar position and have been looking for a few years for something that catches my eye, I've looked at couple of really nice 1150 gsa's which I've always fancied. The only problem is my 1100 is so well sorted everything I look at I think well if I change this and change that and get it lowered etc etc etc I'll end up with what've I've got now - Doh.

However thinking outside the box the new Versys 650 is a really nice bike getting fantastic reviews, I had one of the MK1's it was brilliant, supposedly the new ones are even much better.

Sorry I'm not much help.