Is it me or is the Baglux Tank Cover rubbish?

DrAlf

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
As above - what a pain. A hassle to fit and take off - it has to be removed to remove the tank which is just stupid. In addition the straps are poorly designed and located - especially the 2 x straps which run either side of the front shock, who thought that was a good idea:nenau The first of these shock straps lasted about 3 months and the other one failed last night after rubbing through on the tank seam.

Just me or have others had the same experience :nenau

Not had a single problem with mine in the last 6 years. :nenau

I've been using Baglux/Bagster on a variety of bikes for 25 years - never had a single problem. OK it may not look great, compared with a big shiney tank, but it does the job effectively IMHO.

Then again I haven't had the need to take the tank off that often either.

Are you sure the bra is fitted correctly. Are any moving elements of the front suspension at play here - maybe you are pulling the straps down just a bit too tight? If you have a sharp seam somewhere, it will cut through whatever strapping system you use - can the strap/seam be protected with padding somehow. Maybe just clear horticultural tape over the seam area would do the trick (Gaffer tape won't last). Alternatively. some flexible plastic/gel between strap & tank seam attached to the strap with zip-ties pro-tem, while you think about something more permanent.

....................... KEN

No probs with mine on the Rockster. If you're clever you can affix the vast majority of the straps so that the tank cover doesn't need to be taken off when you remove the tank (the cover hasn't been off my bike in 10 years).

Well, I'm kinda with DrAlf on this one. I switched to the Motech tank lock ring arrangement. Which I really like.

The bra never seemed to behave and acted more like a parachute half the time. But I did like the protection it offered the tank.