Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ride routes

  1. #1
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cleadon village
    Posts
    187

    ride routes

    Can you install into a nav3 ride magazine routes. Tonight I've tried and failed.

    I have done it on a nav5 but I think this may be a step too far for an old nav3.

    Any thoughts on this.

  2. #2
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Evesham
    Posts
    2,242
    You should be able to do that. I just tested the download of one of the Ride routes

    It comes as a compressed file, download it to a folder on your PC, click extract and you should end up with the file. I use Mapsource and so clicking on the file opens it in Mapsource. If you are using a Nav3 your Garmin maps will be rather old, I used openstreetmaps on my 2610 which is a similar device. Once you have opened the file and can see the route you will need to recalculate it so that it is working on your own maps. I would make a copy of the route so as to keep the original for reference. If you do this you can see where there are any changes and modify as required. Once the route has been calculated on your maps you can download to the device in the usual way.

    John
    Still misbehaving.

  3. #3
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cleadon village
    Posts
    187

    Will have a go.

    Thats a different method to the one I used on the nav5 (I think). It was 2 years ago mind you. I don't remember opening any of the files. Just exporting them in the format they were downloaded in.

    When you enter the menu on the nav3 you don't get a window for importing routes/gpx files. That why I am wondering does the nav3 have the capability to import routes.

    I shall endeavour with the task but I feel a more modern gps awaits me. Its my birthday next month so that my present sorted.

    Thanks for the reply, appreciated.

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Evesham
    Posts
    2,242
    Quote Originally Posted by steveC View Post
    Thats a different method to the one I used on the nav5 (I think). It was 2 years ago mind you. I don't remember opening any of the files. Just exporting them in the format they were downloaded in.

    When you enter the menu on the nav3 you don't get a window for importing routes/gpx files. That why I am wondering does the nav3 have the capability to import routes.

    I shall endeavour with the task but I feel a more modern gps awaits me. Its my birthday next month so that my present sorted.

    Thanks for the reply, appreciated.
    You just plug the old thing in using a standard usb lead and you can download the route from Basecamp. This method is better in my opinion than placing it direct into a device because you have the opportunity to check the route and importantly to recalculate it using maps that (hopefully) match those on the device. Yes the device can re calculate for you but if there are problems caused by the different maps you wont know about it until you are out on the road. A bit late then!

    John
    Still misbehaving.

  5. #5
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cleadon village
    Posts
    187
    I am getting closer, I have base camp downloaded. I have clicked on file and import into..... however when I select the files I have down loaded from the ride magazine I cannot transfer them.

    The next step would be click on device then send it the files. Now I have to work out why I cannot transfer the files from my computer into basecamp. The joys of base camp.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,551

    ride routes

    Don't think BaseCamp is the problem. Sounds like a file issue.

  7. #7
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cleadon village
    Posts
    187
    Hi all I had two threads on this subject running. The other one was in computer help. I have managed to achieve my goal. I failed on a pc and thought it was a file issue as iand46 pointed out.
    I then did the same on my MacBook and succeeded first time. Thanks to all.

  8. #8
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    43,023
    Problem solved.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"