Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Nextbase Ride Camera

  1. #1
    New Member (less than 15 Posts)
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    london
    Posts
    8

    Nextbase Ride Camera

    I have been given a Nextbase Ride Camera as a present. Has anyone overcome the problems that I have with it?

    The mount to the bike is poor for security so I have looked at RAM mounts to be more secure but still security is an issue, I cannot leave the camera on the bike overnight, I have accepted that I will have to take it on and off as required.

    The hard wire kit has an advantage over other cams that are battery operated only, however, to remove the camera I need to disconnect the lead from the camera, easy enough. Once disconnected the power lead is exposed to the elements, Nexbase do not make a blank cap for it. Apart from a bag and an elastic band, has anyone overcome this issue?

    Nextbase technical teams answer is to look on amazon for a solution, I then emailed head office pointing out this design issue and said it could be easily sorted with a blank cap that screws onto the power lead probably for only a few pence, no reply.

  2. #2
    opinionated, me? Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kelsall, Cheshire
    Posts
    4,767
    Yes, I had similar issues to yourself, and received similar replies! I threw away the mount that came with it, and replaced it with a proper ram mount. I take the power lead off and just hang it over the mount pointing to the floor.
    Mark
    Just when you've got this rat race licked, here come faster rats!

  3. #3
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Gloucester United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,378
    This is what I have done........ http://www.ukgser.com/forums/showthr...e-Ride-Dashcam

    I made my own mount, but they can be purchased from here......... http://www.nippynormans.com/gps-acce...gs-lc-and-more

    If you want to change the thumb buckle screw for a hex drive machine screw, it's a 1/4" UNC thread.

  4. #4
    New Member (less than 15 Posts)
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    london
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by earthmover View Post
    Yes, I had similar issues to yourself, and received similar replies! I threw away the mount that came with it, and replaced it with a proper ram mount. I take the power lead off and just hang it over the mount pointing to the floor.
    Mark
    Any problems with corrosion?

  5. #5
    opinionated, me? Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kelsall, Cheshire
    Posts
    4,767
    Not yet!
    Mark
    Just when you've got this rat race licked, here come faster rats!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    383
    Is the camera still working for you? I have one and am having trouble with it saying 'SD card full' rather than just recording over the oldest data.

    Chris

  7. #7
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    seaside, N Yorks
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by gbmud View Post
    Is the camera still working for you? I have one and am having trouble with it saying 'SD card full' rather than just recording over the oldest data.

    Chris
    My Chinese 'clone' camera suggests re-format card every month.
    Some cards don't like continual writing and over-writing, so re-format is a good idea.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    383
    Cheers. The problem will manifest within a couple of days riding, and expecting the user to reformat that often seems to defeat the point of 'looped' recording! Nextbase is a premium product and I was hoping for a seamless £200 experience rather than a (no offence, I think you have probably done better then me!) £15 eBay cheapie!

    Thanks for the thought though.

    Camera is presently with Nextbase, who cannot replicate the fault in their workshop. I plan to suggest they take it out on a bike!

    Cheers

    Chris

  9. #9

  10. #10
    opinionated, me? Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kelsall, Cheshire
    Posts
    4,767
    Sorry, missed earlier posts. Yes, my camera is still working perfectly. I did put a new SD card in it after recording an accident on it (not me, see "Ill fated Alps trip") which I didn't want to lose the footage. Never had the SD card full message, but I do format them regularly anyway on advice from a camera nerd. Hope you get yours sorted.
    Mark
    Just when you've got this rat race licked, here come faster rats!

  11. #11
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Gloucester United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,378
    I took my sd card off the bike to find that not all rides are videoed.

    Anyone else have footage missing ?

    Cure found ?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    383
    In light of the report on Amazon I have asked Nextbase for the camera to be returned so that I can get a refund.

    Chris

  13. #13
    opinionated, me? Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kelsall, Cheshire
    Posts
    4,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Gargy View Post
    I took my sd card off the bike to find that not all rides are videoed.

    Anyone else have footage missing ?

    Cure found ?
    Have you noticed that there is a file for "locked" recordings?
    Mark
    Just when you've got this rat race licked, here come faster rats!

  14. #14
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    surrounded
    Posts
    1,322
    formating: When you format the card in a camera and it takes less than 30 seconds, it is not really formating. What it is doing is erasing the fat table, ie. the index, list of contents etc.

    If you want to format it properly, place the memory card (may need an adapter) and place it in your computer. Select format from the computer, usually have the option of a deep or full format. This will take up 30 minutes depending on size and writes all over the memory space, checking for errors and recording them in its newly created fat/index table. This is the only way to ensure integrity of your memory card.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"