Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 23

Thread: Innovv K1.

  1. #1
    Rum Bosun Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Pewsey, Wiltshire
    Posts
    220

    Innovv K1.

    I failed to get any replies to my previous post on this camera system so I went ahead and fitted mine in the way that seemed best and easiest... Though I MIGHT revise things in time.

    My bike is a 2017 GSA LC Triple Black.

    The Front camera I mounted on a custom made bracket above the headlight. I considered buying a bracket to fix the camera on the indicator stub, but I wanted to get a centre line POV in the shot... AND as I already had a sheet of 2mm aluminium, it cost me only the time it took to make.

    The rear cam, I mounted on the rear near-side indicator stalk... that way it "shouldn't" get too dirty from the exhaust - HOPEFULLY!

    I covered the openings on the GPS aerial with "transpa-seal" (Clear sticky-backed-plastic) and I've set that in the front right of the fairing.

    I removed the centre section of the tank cover (2 x T25, 1 T30 bolts at the very front, 2 x T25 in the coin tray & 2 x T25 at the very rear of the tank cover - it then un-clips quite easily from the rear) I ran the wire from the camera along the left side weld of the tank seam, the GPS wire ran along the opposite side.

    For now, I've mounted the DVR unit under the pillion seat, "waterproofing it" with a heavy duty clip-seal poly bag. To save the LCD screen getting dinked, I taped two pieces of UPVC plastic across the top.

    I used the supplied 5V power converter, also fixing that under the pillion seat. All wires going to the DVR unit were fitted with ferrous ballast units that I bought on e-Bay. The trigger for the power supply was taken from a PDM60 unit that I fitted.

    I have had to re-programme the DVR unit to recognise that the cameras have been "flipped" but that was pretty simple to do - even though the instructions that come with the camera system are near non-existent.

    Tomorrows commute will be the proving ground for how the cameras perform on the home-made brackets... but I'm fairly confident they'll be OK.

    I didn't bother with the supplied switch to control the cameras as I want them recording all the time.

    Would I recommend this system? YES - as it's cheaper than many, unobtrusive and it covers front AND rear views.
    Attached Images Attached Images      

  2. #2
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    1,843
    be interested to know if you get any jello efect on the video due to vibes.

  3. #3
    Rum Bosun Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Pewsey, Wiltshire
    Posts
    220
    I'll let you know

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Barrowford Lancastershire
    Posts
    915
    Where did you buy it from? I've been looking at the C3
    Out on the floor - K.T.F.

  5. #5
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    East Grinstead
    Posts
    330
    Do let us know how you get on with this.
    I have had one for over a year now. When it works it's very good quality. But it frequently locks up and overheats. Daily resets and reformats seem to work but the saved files will eventually stop it overwriting.
    Great price and customer service. Once it is fitted you (should be ) able to forget about it unless you need to access a file.
    And it is discrete.

  6. #6
    Rum Bosun Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Pewsey, Wiltshire
    Posts
    220
    Quote Originally Posted by vRSG60 View Post
    Where did you buy it from? I've been looking at the C3
    Direct from Innovv

  7. #7
    Rum Bosun Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Pewsey, Wiltshire
    Posts
    220
    I'm hoping it won't overheat.

    My secondary choice of positioning would be atop the ECU under the riders seat... But I thought that might actually be warmer.

    Not sure they sell the C3 anymore?

  8. #8
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Barrowford Lancastershire
    Posts
    915
    There's a UK site got them for sale £102
    Out on the floor - K.T.F.

  9. #9
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    East Grinstead
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by vRSG60 View Post
    There's a UK site got them for sale £102
    Do tell where please?.

  10. #10
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Barrowford Lancastershire
    Posts
    915
    Quote Originally Posted by dmilne View Post
    Do tell where please?.
    Here.
    Out on the floor - K.T.F.

  11. #11
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    East Grinstead
    Posts
    330
    Ummm.. Thank you... not..
    This thread is for the INNOVV K1
    The link only has C3s.
    Thought it was cheap..

  12. #12
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Barrowford Lancastershire
    Posts
    915
    Quote Originally Posted by dmilne View Post
    Ummm.. Thank you... not..
    This thread is for the INNOVV K1
    The link only has C3s.
    Thought it was cheap..
    The post above mine said he wasn't sure they sold the C3s anymore hence my link.
    Out on the floor - K.T.F.

  13. #13
    Rum Bosun Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Pewsey, Wiltshire
    Posts
    220
    Quote Originally Posted by vRSG60 View Post
    The post above mine said he wasn't sure they sold the C3s anymore hence my link.
    Thanks anyway for the quote vRSG60... I might get one of those as a helmet cam!


    Quote Originally Posted by leedude03 View Post
    be interested to know if you get any jello efect on the video due to vibes.
    Leedude... Going to TRY to upload a front and rear view of part of my commute home. I don't think it's jello - despite the best efforts of the rural Wiltshire roads! The rear view cam IS covered in dirt so the picture quality isn't great. I'm wondering if cams that have given a "jello'd" effect were mounted on rubber "dampening"? My cameras are mounted without any rubber or foam

    I cannot work out how to upload video files. If you look on Facebook Group "Adventure Bike Trail Riding UK" I posted two videos _ Front & Rear POV

  14. #14
    Rum Bosun Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Pewsey, Wiltshire
    Posts
    220
    Quote Originally Posted by dmilne View Post
    Do let us know how you get on with this.
    I have had one for over a year now. When it works it's very good quality. But it frequently locks up and overheats. Daily resets and reformats seem to work but the saved files will eventually stop it overwriting.
    Great price and customer service. Once it is fitted you (should be ) able to forget about it unless you need to access a file.
    And it is discrete.
    Having done some research on the lock-ups, it would appear that they are generally caused by RF interference. Fitting (as I have) ferrite ballasts to the wires all but negates this problem. As for the overheating, that is a problem that I've yet to experience. In the mean time, I'll keep looking to find a solution to either fix or pre-empt that problem

  15. #15
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Somerset
    Posts
    92
    I ordered one this week so hopefully next weekend I can spend trying to fit it. I have also read that rf is the most common cause of issues and easily sorted. I will upload some images and details once done.

  16. #16
    Rum Bosun Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Pewsey, Wiltshire
    Posts
    220
    Quote Originally Posted by Sky Bear View Post
    I ordered one this week so hopefully next weekend I can spend trying to fit it. I have also read that rf is the most common cause of issues and easily sorted. I will upload some images and details once done.
    I fitted these (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2519682771...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT) to all wires. Not had an RF issue.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"