Thread: Advice please from you clever people who understand electrickary

Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe

Advice please from you clever people who understand electrickary

Hi everyone

Can you help please i have a 2006 GSA

I have bought 2 Keis X25 full jackets one for me - one for mrs with the gloves for her only

Jacket is 7a / 84w & gloves for mrs are 1.0a / 13w so added together i need to put in a 10amp fuse for both - if i have understood this correctly

i also am running a Zumo 595LM and auto com spa duo (already fitted)

my question for the clever people is could i run my jacket as well or would i be pushing my luck

Thank you for any help and advice

Gaz

Ah fuses, calling Engineer, calling Engineer......

I am no electronics expert by any stretch, but on the last three bikes i've had (two BM's and a KTM) I've run both rider and pillion heated jackets straight from the battery.

Hi Giles

thank you for the very quick reply - did you have a sat nav and auto com stuff as well ?

Thanks

Gaz

Huntingdonshire (Cambridgeshire) & Bedfordshire
    Quote Originally Posted by Gazzabart View Post
    Hi everyone

Can you help please i have a 2006 GSA

I have bought 2 Keis X25 full jackets one for me - one for mrs with the gloves for her only

Jacket is 7a / 84w & gloves for mrs are 1.0a / 13w so added together i need to put in a 10amp fuse for both - if i have understood this correctly

i also am running a Zumo 595LM and auto com spa duo (already fitted)

my question for the clever people is could i run my jacket as well or would i be pushing my luck

Thank you for any help and advice

Gaz
    They should be fused separately, otherwise a fault on the gloves could lead to excess current flowing in the thinner glove wiring and it burning out before the fuse opens.

I would start with a 10A fuse for the jacket and say 2A max for the gloves.

All information offered in good faith but if you set fire to the gloves or jacket it ain't my fault right