Sena 10U or 20S

Silver Rat

Reaction score
Hi folks. I have been using an Autocom for about 10 years now and have just ordered a new R1200RT LE, which is still being built! I am going to take this opportunity to upgrade to bluetooth and a couple of mates are using Sena SMH10 kits, so I am looking at Sena too.

My helmet is a Shoei GT Air and I really like the idea of the neat fitting of the 10U, which I am sure would be a great piece of kit but I am not too sure about the handlebar remote control being a pain to use next to the BMW rotary control thingy.

For virtually the same price, I can get a 20S, which it appears to be a better kit in every way but is not such a neat fitting clamped to the side of the lid. I have a couple of questions that you may help with:

1. Are the speakers of the same quality - I have read differing reports
2. Is Audio multitasking on the 20S the show stealer?
3. Is the 10U remote a pain to use?
4. The 20S has a 2km range but my mates only have 900metres range. Does that mean that no matter what I buy, the range will be dictated by the SMH10's range?

Is there anything else that I should be aware of?

K

Hi SR

I have the 10u in my GT Air. Friend has the 20

The 20 in almost every way is superior except it doesn't integrate in the helmet like the 10u.

If I was purchasing now I would buy the 20

i looked into this for both of these models.... the remote on the 10u won't go next to the wheel on the RT,there is no room for it, so you ned to fit it next to the master cylinder and to operate it means hands of bar, etc.

It depends what you want from the bluetooth connector. but when linked to the BMW Nav5/6 the wheel should do most things,like scrolling through a phone book, or music library.