10KG maximum weight in aluminium panniers

Flaming T

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
QQ please guys & girls..

This is my first time away on the GSA and have the aluminium panniers and top box. Panniers advise 10KG max weight for each and top box of 5KG. is this recommended or 'strict'. Just a general question as assuming you could, if need be, take more without any issue.

Appreciate your comments, confirmation etc. :beerjug:

QQ please guys & girls..

This is my first time away on the GSA and have the aluminium panniers and top box. Panniers advise 10KG max weight for each and top box of 5KG. is this recommended or 'strict'. Just a general question as assuming you could, if need be, take more without any issue.

Appreciate your comments, confirmation etc. :beerjug:
It's probably advisable due to mounting points and not putting strain on them. BMW covering themselves I expect. I would probably stretch up to 12 but not much more to be on safe side as panniers are weighty anyway.

It's probably advisable due to mounting points and not putting strain on them. BMW covering themselves I expect. I would probably stretch up to 12 but not much more to be on safe side as panniers are weighty anyway.

Thanks Traffic.... I was thinking as much but needed to hear it from others too. :thumb2

I told the wife that her pannier is limited to 7kg because it's smaller, stops her taking so much.:D:thumb2

Never bothered weighing the contents. Just filled them with clothes, wash kit, padlock and chain etc.

Wouldn't recommend filling them up with lead weights though.

I'm sure if you use common sense you will be fine.

Yep just use common sense. You can see panniers with top bags under bags and xtra liquid storage bottles fire extinguishers deep fat friers+++++ stuck all over them. You will be ok. JJH

I lost my complete top box and rear end once.....that was with a fully loaded box and doing jumps on Salisbury plain.....! You will be fine in normal use