How do I reverse a route, successfully?

vRSG60

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
1530 miles later and no issues with the Nav5.:D. Took us from Calais to Baden Baden following the route I had wanted (France, Belgium, Luxembourg then Germany) which I reversed for the homeward trip :thumb2

I assume you'd done this before you set off. I tried to find a function to reverse a route on the Nav V but couldn't.
Happen as well. Because when I do it in Basecamp it keeps the waypoints as they are, so if it's a dual carriage way most are on the wrong side of the road and bugger it all up. They need to me manual re-positioned.
This, by the way, is using a set route with pre-planned waypoints. Not a basic route mapped in Basecamp.

Can't be done on the Nav 5 (unlike the 550 and 660). You have to save it in reverse in Basecamp and them upload it.

I have been asking Garmin to reinstate this function for a few years now. It wasn't that I used it much but it was bloody useful when I did!

Please ask Garmin to reinstate it and maybe if enough people do it might happen!

(Just posted this in the Basecamp section)

On the Nav V you can call up a track (Apps, Tracks then look in the Active Track tab). Select the track to view it, then from the top LH menu you have the option to 'Save as Trip' and under this 'start to finish' or 'finish to start'.

In Basecamp, just r-click on the route name in the lower LH panel and invert route.

BTW, good point about waypoints placed on dual carriageways causing problems when inverting a route. I do occasional talks on route planning principles and one key point is to drag route shaping points to the entry and exit roads of M-way or dual carriageway sections. This avoids all the hassle of trying to place a point on the correct side of the carriageway, and makes life simpler if you want to reverse the route.