Trikes - good idea?

(RIP) Stormchaser

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Anyone out there with a bit of experience who might offer some advice would be greatly appreciated!

I find myself having to look to a three wheeled alternative to the GSA. I have some experience with sidecars but none whatsoever with trikes. I'm not attracted to solo bike conversions, they just don't do it for me.

What I have in mind are the full on factory built trikes like Boom and Rewaco.

What are they like to ride and maintain?

I have built and ridden a trike for many years. If you buy a homemade trike it can be a disaster or great dependimg on the knowledge and skill of the builder. If i built another it would be far better than my first ! They should have less problems, However they cost far more and have a fixed design. As to get certified in Germany for exmple they have to have the big leg and foot guards. I would say if you are not good at spanners be very carefull buying a home made one. As most have vw Beetle engines maintenance is very simple and cheap. Cleaning znd polishing will take longer.

The above post pretty much sums it up.
I've had a couple of trikes,the best being one a friend made from a CB900F.

The father of a deceased friend converted the R1100GS he'd been bequeathed into a trike....it was my old Kalahari yellow 1100 that I'd put an 1150 front end on.
We're not in touch anymore but I'm sure it was done by a place in North Wales.
Maybe you'd consider triking your GS?
You may get details if you contact Dreamland paintshop in New Ferry/Port Sunlight here on the Wirral.....speak to Phil and ask who converted the GS for Tony Boote.

Thanks guys, that's useful. I like the full on style of the big trikes and that they are designed to be what they are - and my guess is that they should deliver much enhanced performance over a conversion.