Lame but trying..

Warlord

Do Not Resuscitate
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I've always been a road rider, but slowly going to explore off-roading with my GSA.

Booked into BMW Off Road School Level 1 at end of this month.

But does anyone know of any EASY offroad trails around Midlands whereby its legal to take a motorcycle (or four) and not be shot by farmers. I don't know the bylaws but are Forestry Fire Tracks available? Any ideas?

I want to start easy and not wreck my bike first off within it's first year of life.

Join the TRF, but please let us know when you go on your first ride with them, so we can pitch up and film their faces :D

….as a novice, I wouldn't be using a big bike.

There are plenty of threads on here explaining why not and even advice on what to get…

Ok thanks, I'll keep looking.

Maybe new bike excuse haha

As said above join TRF. Money well spent. A CRF250L or similar is a good option to start on. I have an AJP PR5 which is similar and I can abuse on the small trails without worrying about. I take the GSA on the bigger trails but it’s much harder to pick up when you fall off. That’s ‘when’ you fall off!

Enjoy your level 1 its good fun and will help in showing how to pick the bike up amongst other goodies :D

So where is that track? Clearly Hawes was the destination. Or is it a secret? :augie

No there not secret, there just a few small BOATs in and around north yorkshire, you just have to study OS Maps and experiment, I will put a post up next time I am up that way on the big bike anyone is welcome to tag along

You can not beat a good paper map to give you ideas :thumby:

Just been on trf weekend suppose Ktm most common , but all sorts there anything over a 100kg is heavy when it's on top of you in a hedge, or you're picking it up for the fifth time, very pleased with my fantic 250 not very common but very easy to ride , uses same engine as gas-gas and ajp , lot cheaper than Ktm and less racey which is prob better for novice .