what to buy?

beaver

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi All.. First post here so please be kind :) I've been riding a tuned 1200 Bandit and my 1340 FXR for a few years now, but having had the Bandit for 19 years, I'm thinking its time for a change. I've had a couple of R100RS in the past and did a lot of touring on them in my younger days, I also bougth a R100gs, one of the first para-leavers and we very impressed with how nice it was to drive.

So, to the question.. I'm after a GS... I want a bike I can use to go to work on, that will take me and the good wife on weekends away, and also the longer trips if I ever get around to doing them... But I also want something I can play on at weekends... Love the poke of the 1200 Bandit but appreciate a GS will not be the same.. that said, low down torque is where its at.
So been looking around and I'm confused... You get early 1200's going for £3K-£13K... 1150's from £3K to £7K.. and 1100 £1K to £4K?... or there abouts.. so what is best?... I'd like to spend no more that £4K and appear to be looking at bikes around the 30,000 miles area.. you do get some with less, but then the £ obviously goes up...
All that said, I've seen some at 25K that are rough, but others at 60K that are mint... so engine / box wise, whats an acceptable milage?... Is a 60K unit still worth looking at?
and then the biggest question of all... 11 / 11.5 / 12?.. I'm just over 6' and like a big bike... so any thoughts on my way forward?... Many thanks for any advise.. John

So no thoughts on this :( There is a 1200 on a 2006 plate local with low miles... He's replaced the rear shock and fuel pump relay.. want £5.5K for it.. would this be a good buy, or do they have other issues??...

one the one hand you don't want to spend more than 4k and now your looking at a 5.5k bike?
buty the newest low milage 1200 you can find pref 08 on